Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made this over the weekend and served it to guests who spit it out after taking first bite. No one liked it at all so it went in the garbage. Did not have much of a lemon taste at all. But you could taste the small amount of cornmeal in it. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have tried several different lemon chess pie recipes until I found this one. My family and friends love this pie. This Thanksgiving I made 2 of them and they were gone while there were leftovers of the rest of the pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was excellent! I made this for Christmas Eve and it was fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly, allowing the top of the pie to become golden brown before removing from the oven. The center was not set when it came out of the oven. It sat on the counter cooling for a few hours and then the center was nice and firm. You cannot cut this pie when it comes straight from the oven. It is the perfect dessert after a rich, heavy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Great lemon flavor. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This has a nice lemon flavor, but is just too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I am not a baker this recipe is Outstanding!I don't know why some are cutting the sugar.It is called dessert.I followed the recipe exactly came out great.The way to test for doneness shake the tray the pie is on loose but the center moves the same.Perfectly browned.My wife said don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I have made this pie for the second time today. I am glad I read the reviews before making it the first time. I used my French White Quiche dish (10inch X 3inch) and it is PERFECT fit for the entire recipe. I love anything lemon. I loved my grandmother's Chess Pie. A total winner~! I serve it with 'real' whipped cream and sliced strawberries and a spring of mint. A crowd pleaser~! Thanks~! I do have to increase the baking time by about 10 to 12 minutes. No problem in setting-up and it comes out the same color as the picture used in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Yep, made it several times and used buttermilk in lieu of the milk or 1/2 buttermilk and 1/2 half'n'half. Pretty creamy stuff. Used 1/2 teaspoon intense natural lemon extract with the zest. All these little changes are fine. Only commnent otherwise is the oven setting may be too high and the time too short. I moved it back to 300F and let it cook 20 min longer and it really set up. At 350F and 40minutes it didn't set up in the center. Also when you lower an oven setting and increase the cook time, more H2O evaporates and that contributes to the custard to set easily. But not an issue really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Loved it!!! Perfect chess pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Yes this is a awesome chess pie. I double up on the lemon flavor and before cooling in the refrigerator I put a little more lemon juice on top of the pie to settle in more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States