Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was just okay for us. I decided to make this as written and although the flavor wasn't bad (other than being way sweet)the texture was really strange. It's not really like a custard but rather mushy. After reading other reviews, i had 2 crusts ready to go and didn't have nearly enough filling for both. One deep dish pie would have been perfect. I probably will not make this again. Sorry Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I love anything with lemon in it, and this recipe has all the lemon flavor and taste you could ask for. I followed the recipe to a tee the first time, but found it way too sweet, to me. I made it again and cut the sugar in half and it was perfect. It has just the right balance of tart and sweet with a custard-like texture. 5 stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made this for Mothers Day and it turned out lovely. I bought 2 frozen pie crusts, not deep dish! I took the suggestion and used half & half instead of milk and used 1/2 cup of lemon juice instead of 1/4. I took the lazy way out and rather than zest lemons I bought lemon peel from the spice isle, I didn't have a lot of time since I had to bake it Saturday after work. I used splenda instead of sugar. Let it cook and then in the fridge overnight and took it to my mother-in-law for dinner. Everyone loved it and it cut beautifully. Since I did 2 pies it only took 35 minutes in the oven. I'll be sure and make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I love this pie, made a few times. I would describe it as lemon curd pie, those scone lovers out there...you know what that means! Taste better the second day. If you want a real lemony flavor, less sugar, by about half and meyer lemons. Wow! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpioneermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe was fantastic!!! I personally would give it 5 stars because I love lemon- to the point of scraping off the meringue on a lemon meringue pie. However it was a little too overpowering for my husband and a friend who also like lemon but aren't as fanatical as myself. I halved the recipe as other reviewers advised and it was the perfect amount for my 9" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Don't waste your time ...it's missing some key ingredients that would make it good and it's got too much of what makes it bad (sugar and Bill Clinton's name don't help) ... try Lemon Chess II instead of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. I did modify it as follows: Added 1/2 cup of lemon juice instead of 1/4, and reduced milk to 1/3 cup. In addition I added a teaspoon of lemon juice and 1/3 cup of sour cream. I baked in a wide, deep-dish pie shell and the amount of pie filling was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
My crust came out soggy a litte soggy in spots, but thats my fault. I did not know that I need to bake the crust a few minutes before putting in the filling. Also I think it is because the butter content of the filling. I will make again but I think I will, cut down the butter and use cream the next time I make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very good recipe - I followed the earlier suggestion of using two smaller pie shells, worked out perfectly. The only challenge for me was getting the 3 tablespoons of lemon zest. I ended up scrapping too deep and got some of the white membrane from the lemon and that made the pies a tad bit sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmh0150
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
So lemony and sweet. No need to change the recipe...it seems like most people on here are stuck up pricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States