Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Good, not stellar- I used a 9 inch deep dish and all the filling and it didn't overflow at all, the pie was nice and thick. Cooked until just the middle shook a little and took it out to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Flavor was very good, but the pie had to set overnight, and it was still very loose and custardy. Didn't like the texture at all. I also cut the sugar back 1/2 a cup, as 2 cups of sugar in a pie is too much for me. I only used the zest of 1.5 lemons instead of 3 tb. and that was plenty of lemon flavor. Just giving this 4 stars because of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I made it for my husband for father's day. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Butner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I followed the directions to the "t" and ended up with enough filling for two pies. I used the regular frozen kind, not the deep dish. This isn't a bad thing, because the crusts are sold in 2 packs. I let mine sit in the fridge overnight because I like my pie cold...mmm. It's not fair to give a recipe a bad review if you are the one who changed the ingredients-I wish everyone would remember that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
After a very busy day & trying to teach my daughter Abigail to make pies. I had some leftover pie crust & decided to whip this up. Much to my dismay after it completed cooking I discovered I completely forgot the milk! :/ It was delicious even though it lacked the ingredient for making it a custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was an excellent treat for a large crowd of guys on a warm day. Thank you very much! They loved it warm. They asked for another one so the next day it was cold and they raved! This will be made many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this for Easter and it was awesome. I read some other reviews and made a few changes and everyone is right! This is an awesome pie. Creamy, light and just the right amount of lemon flavor and sweetness. Definitely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I cooked it too long:(!! But, still had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This reminded me of a Domino's pizza - it looked so delicious but the taste was very bland and disappointing. Somehow the whole was much less than the sum of the parts - real butter, eggs, milk, real lemon juice, sugar and homemade piecrust should have been wonderful, and they just weren't. To me the only point of dessert is to taste great, and this pie just didn't make the cut. As other reviewers noted, there was not enough lemon flavor from 1/4 c. lemon juice, the recipe makes a lot of filling (completely filling a homemade 9" piecrust with tall crimped edges), and it takes about twice the recommended time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Wow!! This was wonderful! My tweeks were, only had about 1 1/2 tbsp of lemon zest and had a little over 1/4 cup of lemon juice from 4 small lemons. I did have to cook it about 55 minutes before the knife came out clean but the only downfall with that is we had to wait longer! A+++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States