Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I followed the directions to the "t" and ended up with enough filling for two pies. I used the regular frozen kind, not the deep dish. This isn't a bad thing, because the crusts are sold in 2 packs. I let mine sit in the fridge overnight because I like my pie cold...mmm. It's not fair to give a recipe a bad review if you are the one who changed the ingredients-I wish everyone would remember that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
After a very busy day & trying to teach my daughter Abigail to make pies. I had some leftover pie crust & decided to whip this up. Much to my dismay after it completed cooking I discovered I completely forgot the milk! :/ It was delicious even though it lacked the ingredient for making it a custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was an excellent treat for a large crowd of guys on a warm day. Thank you very much! They loved it warm. They asked for another one so the next day it was cold and they raved! This will be made many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this for Easter and it was awesome. I read some other reviews and made a few changes and everyone is right! This is an awesome pie. Creamy, light and just the right amount of lemon flavor and sweetness. Definitely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I cooked it too long:(!! But, still had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This reminded me of a Domino's pizza - it looked so delicious but the taste was very bland and disappointing. Somehow the whole was much less than the sum of the parts - real butter, eggs, milk, real lemon juice, sugar and homemade piecrust should have been wonderful, and they just weren't. To me the only point of dessert is to taste great, and this pie just didn't make the cut. As other reviewers noted, there was not enough lemon flavor from 1/4 c. lemon juice, the recipe makes a lot of filling (completely filling a homemade 9" piecrust with tall crimped edges), and it takes about twice the recommended time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Wow!! This was wonderful! My tweeks were, only had about 1 1/2 tbsp of lemon zest and had a little over 1/4 cup of lemon juice from 4 small lemons. I did have to cook it about 55 minutes before the knife came out clean but the only downfall with that is we had to wait longer! A+++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very good pie. I used the zest of one large lemon and substituted lemon oil and extract for the rest. I used half and half instead of milk for a richer taste and 1/3 cup lemon juice. I know chess pies are meant to be sweet but 2 cups of sugar would have made this pie way too sweet for my taste so I only used 1 1/2 cups and it was perfect. This recipe makes a lot of filling. I used a deep dish pie shell and still had some leftover. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is my first ever chess pie, after having only read about them, and I was glad I tried this as I'm a huge lemon fan. This will not replace my fav, lemon meringue, but for those who enjoy lemony things, this is a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was good - definitely needs to sit for a while before eating. I thought it needed to be more lemony but others were fine with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States