Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Great Pie, terrible name :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Good pie! If you are using a regular 9 inch pie crust, take note of JANET BURGIN's review warning that this recipe makes enough filling for 2 crusts. If I were to make this again, I would probably use half and half instead of milk, and use more lemon zest. Other than that, this was pretty good! Thanks, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was excellent! For dietary reasons, I substituted oil for butter and soy milk for the milk and it worked fine. Definetly cut the sugar by at least half a cup, and I think it needs another 1/4 cup of lemon juice to give it a bit more tart flavor. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This one deserves 5 stars. Very rich, you only need a small piece. I substituted cream for the milk, and used 1/3 cup instead of 1 cup, for a 9-inch pie. Yummy! One of our favorites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
this recipe varies a bit from mine but it is used at every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made this pie a few months ago and it was delicious. My father-in-law called today to request it for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I had been looking for a recipe for chess pie for years and when I came across this one I figured to give a try. It was a nice twist from the basic chess pie I tried in the past. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was pretty good. If I could add a half star I would. If I make this again I'll use cream instead of milk as another reviewer suggested, and reduce the amount of sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I can't count how many times I've made this pie for various dinners & family, outings, and it's ALWAYS come out perfect! But I do cut down the amount of sugar by half a cup. (It doesn't need to be THAT sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaRossMartin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This pie was excellent- I made both this pie and the "lemon chess pie I" at the same time and this pie was tops! I did add some lemon zest and used evaporated milk for a little more creaminess. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN4HEARTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quinton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States