Bigos (Hunter's Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ania
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The more meat you add the better! Just like Babcia used to make. I also add 1cup of chopped prunes. Love it! The longer you cook it the better. Cooling it off and warming it up again for a few days, makes the flavors better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Taste fine, not too hard to make. Has a very strong flavor that's definitely not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Um, it's a very generic, salty dish that doesn't bear much of a similarity to the Polish hunter's stew, contrary to what others wrote below. As an authentic bigos, it should at least have 2 chopped green apples, a couple pounds of venison, shredded ham instead of bacon and pork, a couple of cubed potatoes, and no sauerkraut. You need to have a thick, rich, beautiful brown base. Napa cabbage should replace the sauerkraut so that it cooks down and soaks up the flavors, instead of making it salty. There is no "one" recipe for bigos, but it is a hunter's stew and it should be meaty and rich...and shouldn't be salty. This is a recipe for kiel and sauerkraut, not bigos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This recipe is delicious. I omitted the pork (because I didn't have any) and it turned out great. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
My family and I thought this recipe was amazing. This is a wonderful and flavorful dish. I'm Polish and had never had any recipe like this, so it was a pleasant surprise. It had all the ingredients we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
original recipe don't leave out the kraut or paste! Those are the key ingredients. Drop in some bay leaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I am polish and this was great! I did not bake it but just let it cook in one pot, the way my mom makes it and added a little bit of shredded apples to it. Served it at a Christmas party and it was a big hit! Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Yup, this is the authentic Bigos! The longer you cook it, the better, and it gets better after a day or so in the fridge. It's a labor of love! Getting dried mushrooms is a bit tricky. Look up "dried polish borowiki" on the internet and you can find several mail order sites. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASIAKAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My hubby is polish and I am mexican. I have been trying to make him polish food for a while. When I told him I had found this recipe he went out and bought sauerkraut, ready to make it the same day. I made it for dinner last night. He kept raving how good it was. I was surprised, it was absolutely delioucious. I made it to the T, perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My exhusband is from Poland and made this often. I have made this recipe several times now and my sons say its better then their fathers. I followed the directions exactly the first time. Now I don't coat the meat. I just throw it all together on top of the stove at first browning the meat and then adding everything. I also use a bag of shredded coleslaw mix instead of chopping a carrot and cabbage. Works great! I just throw pork, beef or chicken in. Whatever I have or is on sale. I've never had this recipe turn out bad. We love it at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States