Bigos (Hunter's Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Wow this was very hearty! Took longer than anticipated to prepare but was worth the wait. Great meal and currently have leftovers in the freezer for a quick meal in the future. Thin sliced boiled potatoes were a nice bed for soaking up the stew sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made this in a slow cooker. It was great! I've ordered Bigos many times in restaurants. This was the first time I made my own. It was awesome. My husband agreed that it blew away Bigos we had eaten before. I used about twice as much pork as the recipe calls for and more vegetables. The yield was about 6 qts and I froze half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Awesome! My husband asked me to make this and we both loved it. A lot of ingredients, but completely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NickiGreen
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made this it's wonderful, I added a bulb of fennel as well, and used napa cabbage. delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
There is certainly a right and wrong way to prepare some traditional Polish recipes, Bigos isn't one of them. Many of them stemmed out of peasant kitchens a couple hundred years ago where people were trying to put a hot meal in front of their families with whatever they had on hand. Our family version didn't use the pork, flour, wine, carrots or mushrooms. Use a blend of rinsed sour kraut and cabbage. (One relatively large jar of sour kraut to half a head of cabbage) Rinsing kraut takes the canned saltiness out. We make this stove top, so use about 4 cups water to start and a pint of tomato juice as the moisture dissipates. The important part is to have lots of fluid at the beginning which will gradually reduce. Never let it dry out when cooking, add water/ tomato juice as needed, but you don't really want cabbage soup when you are ready to serve. I liked the kielbasa, but to my taste 3 links of cooked and crumbled spicy Italian Sausage make this even better. Like all cabbage based meals, the longer it cooks the better it will taste. Haven't had a cabbage roll that wasn't better the next day! Works very well after a day in a slow cooker. And like my aunt says in her recipe, enjoy a beer while preparing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I added extra beef broth and caraway seeds and just simmered it stovetop for an hour; let it sit for a couple of hours to cool off and then re-heated it. Very tasty and every one liked it--pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I absolutely love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Grew up eating bigos. Don't leave out the sauerkraut and don't add Italian seasoning. Never heard of bigos made with wine or beer. Tastes best on the third day. Freezes extremely well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slim1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe is super! Though not wishing to be contrarian, please note that Genevieve's negative review is misinformed. I'm a bigos aficionado having visited Poland about 50 times and consumed bigos probably in more than 100 locations all over that country. Upon arrival in Poland, seeking out bigos is usually one of my first endeavors. I share the foregoing to impart credence to my statements about Polish bigos. Though no two cooks make it identically, it ALWAYS is sauerkraut based (indeed usually mostly sauerkraut) and ALWAYS salty. I have NEVER seen it with venison or any other wild game (but why not?) and it NEVER has a "thick, rich brown base" (gravy). Genevieve obviously is thinking of something else. The translation "hunter's stew" may be the misnomer. Bigos, at least as it commonly is prepared in virtually every Polish household and restaurant today, is made with farm raised meats obtained from the butcher - most always including kielbasa and often with pork, bacon and/or ham. In Europe, recepies prominently featuring mushrooms as an ingredient commonly have the term "hunter" (mushroom hunter?) in their title. Bigos may or may not have a lot of or any mushrooms. But, in my experience, it always has a lot of sauerkraut, onions and kielbasa. The rest left to the imagination and resources of the cook. In Poland it is said no clever man states a preference concerning the bigos of his wife compared to his mother's if both women are living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChrystalOates
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Full of flavor and super easy to make. Leftover's get better and better as the soup ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrystalOates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States