Bigos (Hunter's Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My exhusband is from Poland and made this often. I have made this recipe several times now and my sons say its better then their fathers. I followed the directions exactly the first time. Now I don't coat the meat. I just throw it all together on top of the stove at first browning the meat and then adding everything. I also use a bag of shredded coleslaw mix instead of chopping a carrot and cabbage. Works great! I just throw pork, beef or chicken in. Whatever I have or is on sale. I've never had this recipe turn out bad. We love it at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Um, it's a very generic, salty dish that doesn't bear much of a similarity to the Polish hunter's stew, contrary to what others wrote below. As an authentic bigos, it should at least have 2 chopped green apples, a couple pounds of venison, shredded ham instead of bacon and pork, a couple of cubed potatoes, and no sauerkraut. You need to have a thick, rich, beautiful brown base. Napa cabbage should replace the sauerkraut so that it cooks down and soaks up the flavors, instead of making it salty. There is no "one" recipe for bigos, but it is a hunter's stew and it should be meaty and rich...and shouldn't be salty. This is a recipe for kiel and sauerkraut, not bigos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I am Polish and had bigos many many times. I have never seen wine as an ingredient of any traditional Polish dish - not in that climate! And Worcestershire sauce? Never even heard of it until I came to Canada. Also, no Polish cook I know would add basil or flour - it should be thick with veggies and meat but not murky. Also, potatoes are eaten with bigos on the side, mashed, but not as an ingredient. And never, never skip the caraway or tomatoe paste or mushrooms (dry mushrooms should be wild Boletus). Sourcraut is essential. So much for traditional bigos... If you are a vegetarian like I am, skip the meat - the dish is reach and tasty enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I had to make a few changes due to personal preferences, and what I had on hand (I'll be honest, for me, the days of making a special trip to the store to buy ingredients I may or may not use again are gone). I made this with turkey kielbasa, light beer instead of red wine (I actually think this turned out really well), and a mixed Italian herb blend. Also, I omitted the caraway seed and the celery as we aren't huge fans, and I didn't bother with the tomato paste as I didn't want to open a whole can just for a couple of Tbsps. Even with these changes, it turned out great - hearty, filling, with plenty of leftovers for Husband's lunches this week. If I were to make it again, I would probably just use chunks of cabbage. The sauerkraut was a bit stringy, and didn't contribute much flavor. Some diced potato wouldn't hurt either. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
original recipe don't leave out the kraut or paste! Those are the key ingredients. Drop in some bay leaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ania
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The more meat you add the better! Just like Babcia used to make. I also add 1cup of chopped prunes. Love it! The longer you cook it the better. Cooling it off and warming it up again for a few days, makes the flavors better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe is super! Though not wishing to be contrarian, please note that Genevieve's negative review is misinformed. I'm a bigos aficionado having visited Poland about 50 times and consumed bigos probably in more than 100 locations all over that country. Upon arrival in Poland, seeking out bigos is usually one of my first endeavors. I share the foregoing to impart credence to my statements about Polish bigos. Though no two cooks make it identically, it ALWAYS is sauerkraut based (indeed usually mostly sauerkraut) and ALWAYS salty. I have NEVER seen it with venison or any other wild game (but why not?) and it NEVER has a "thick, rich brown base" (gravy). Genevieve obviously is thinking of something else. The translation "hunter's stew" may be the misnomer. Bigos, at least as it commonly is prepared in virtually every Polish household and restaurant today, is made with farm raised meats obtained from the butcher - most always including kielbasa and often with pork, bacon and/or ham. In Europe, recepies prominently featuring mushrooms as an ingredient commonly have the term "hunter" (mushroom hunter?) in their title. Bigos may or may not have a lot of or any mushrooms. But, in my experience, it always has a lot of sauerkraut, onions and kielbasa. The rest left to the imagination and resources of the cook. In Poland it is said no clever man states a preference concerning the bigos of his wife compared to his mother's if both women are living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I am polish and this was great! I did not bake it but just let it cook in one pot, the way my mom makes it and added a little bit of shredded apples to it. Served it at a Christmas party and it was a big hit! Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Yup, this is the authentic Bigos! The longer you cook it, the better, and it gets better after a day or so in the fridge. It's a labor of love! Getting dried mushrooms is a bit tricky. Look up "dried polish borowiki" on the internet and you can find several mail order sites. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASIAKAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChrystalOates
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Full of flavor and super easy to make. Leftover's get better and better as the soup ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrystalOates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States