Biggest Bestest Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I'm not sure if I'd call these the "Biggest or the Bestest" burgers I've ever had, but they certainly were very good. I was a bit skeptical about using teriyaki in a burger mixture as I thought it might overpower the other flavors, but it was actually a nice addition. I cut the recipe in half for one pound of burger meat and got three nice size patties. I used 1/2 tsp. of dried onion flakes vs. chopped onion (was a bit lazy), 1/4 tsp. of black pepper, left out the salt, and used 1 Tbsp. of low sodium teriyaki and 1 Tbsp. of low sodium soy sauce along with the rest of the ingredients. These held together on the grill perfectly and smelled great. They had a wonderful flavor! Perfect on toasted rolls with melted cheese, grilled onion, lettuce, tomato and a dill pickle on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Personally I did not care for these burgers at all. I followed the recipe exactly, but the burgers tasted very "oriental" and were extremely salty (and believe me, I like alot of salt on my burgers!). My 2 and 3 year olds would not touch these after one bite. I'd suggest cutting the recipe in half so you only waste one pound of hamburger if you don't like it. I have 5 burgers I'm throwing down the disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe, and while I did leave out the salt (didn't feel like it needed it) it was a great recipe and I appreciate it being posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
These burgers were really good. I cooked them on the stovetop as we don't have a bbq and I had just cleaned my oven and didn't want to get it dirty! I'm sure the flavor would be even better when grilled or broiled. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Oh my gosh! This has to be the absolute best hamburger I think I have ever eaten. I followed the recipe ingredients to the letter and wouldn't change a thing. However, after forming patties, I put them in the freezer to firm up a bit since they were pretty moist and I thought that they might fall apart on the grill. The flavors melded together as any great recipe should. We had one burger left-over that I just ate for lunch (two days later) and it was even better today than the first day. I just placed it in the microwave for about 20 seconds, topped with a slice of swiss and some minced green onion and nuked it again for about 10 seconds. No bun necessary. I'm not kidding you - it tasted better than any burger I've ever had. This has become our new favorite burger with or without the bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lawton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Excellent burgers! We made them Labor Day and everyone loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This is one tasty burger! I liked the fact that it didn't have an egg in it, just something with an egg mixed in takes away some beef flavor. I scaled the recipe to 1 serving & then halved it because there is no way that I could eat 1/2 lb. burger (I didn't think the kids would like it & hubbys out). I skipped the salt, used onion powder vs. the onion & subbed steak sauce for the teriyaki (I'm out) & made these on my handy George Foreman grill. YUM! Thanks Susan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Absolutely best homemade burger ever! We are not big fans of teriyaki sauce, so we used our favorite steak sauce, Peter Luger's, instead. We didn't use onion buns, as suggested, but used potato buns. We topped the burgers with cheese, bacon, and caramelized onions and now I have to go get something to eat b/c my mouth is watering. A definite keeper !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
The only thing I didn't like about these was too salty. Will definately make again, and just omit the salt. They were so juicy and wonderful. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
It was good, but it was too much like meatloaf. It did not taste like a hamburger. We won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

Ramen Burger

This cheeseburger has big, bold flavors and a bun made with fried ramen noodles.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States