Big Soft Sugar Cookie Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
These cookies are tasteless and they do not flatten out. I would not use this recipe again. I've tried adding vanilla, and other flavorings, and I have not been able to get them right. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
So soft the first time I made them they wouldn't flatten so I flattened them with my spatula .... Still tasty and really soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
My grandchildren always ask for these cookies ! Have had many compliments whenever I have made them.I think it is because they are basic. I make my own frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bryant Pond, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
When I was a kid at home my mother made warm chocolate pudding and poured over this type of cookie. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was a good recipe but not what I was looking for. I was looking for a cookie that was more dense and could be used for dunking. I will make it again as everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBS0602

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
The texture of these cookie-cakes is moist to the point of stickiness. They also turned out darker than the ones in the photo. picture Maybe I did something wrong? I will try this recipe again because they resemble Lofthouse cookies so closely and I'm on a focused pursuit of a recipe that will let me make a homemade version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made these with my daughter for Santa & even following the recipe word for word I still had to add more flour to make the dough thick enough to scoop & still they turned out horrible...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These cookies were not a hit at my house! I think these were the worst I have made yet. Definitely not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is Heidi the poster of the original recipe. I just want to say that these cookies are definitely a regional thing. I live in Amish country of PA and we like things bread-y here. The cookies are certainly not meant to be eaten without the frosting as they are kind of plain by themselves. I must say, though, I love the idea of turning the plain cookies into shortcakes. Thank you for the idea. I'm glad that most people have enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenhester

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These are great! I love the texture and the crumb. My dough wasn't too thick, in fact I had to add about 1/2 cup more flour. I used Crisco instead of margarine and added 1 tsp of salt. I also added 1 tsp Almond Extract and 2 tsps Vanilla. The secret to these cookies is to beat the shortning, sugar and eggs until fluffy! Only stir in the flour. These are fantastic! Thank you Heidi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guys Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States