Big Soft Sugar Cookie Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Seahawk07
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I was looking for a soft cake/cookie and this recipe was PERFECT. I love these cookies. I did add a little more sugar and some vanilla flavoring and they turned out great. They aren't super sweet by themselves, but that makes the icing compliment them really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seahawk07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
oh this was a disaster! it was simple enough to make, i added some vanilla and almond extract because i figured they'd be bland otherwise. the dough was gooey when i finished, but i tried anyway. the cookies didn't flatten or spread out at all. they just puffed up, so i had these big, round cookies. they had an icky, crumbly, dry, dense texture and tasted like absolutely nothing. i can't believe how many people got good results. maybe i did something wrong. either way, this was the worst cookie disaster i ever had. i had to throw out all the cookies-- so many ingredients wasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I hated these cookies. They didn't flatten at all, so I had big round ball cookies. They also had really no flavor, kind of like a ball of moist flour. I almost threw the batter out, but since it was cold in the house I decided to keep the oven running and cook the rest of them as a treat for our 3 dogs. I just wish I hadn't used up my ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
These are the best sugar cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
these cookies were very easy to make but they taste too much like cornbread. the constincency is exactly what i was looking for, but it really needs the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
The cookies did not flatten and they were tasteless. Sugar cookie...hmmm, shouldn't they be sweet?! The flour in this receipe was definitely the focal point of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I tried this recipe for the first time and I was extremely disappointed with the results. The cookies were extremely bland, even after I added vanilla. I didn't use half the dough after my friend tried them and agreed that they weren't very good. It ended up wasting a good amount of my time (it took 17 mins to cook 6 cookies) and a lot of flour. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
these were the worst cookies i have ever made. they would have been great with beans though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
These are very tasty but extremely difficult to store. They have to be stored seperately otherwise they stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I loved this recipe. The cookies were sooo fluffy. My family enjoyed them with their tea. They are not overly sweet. They would be great with whip cream and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States