Big Soft Sugar Cookie Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I tried this recipe for the first time and I was extremely disappointed with the results. The cookies were extremely bland, even after I added vanilla. I didn't use half the dough after my friend tried them and agreed that they weren't very good. It ended up wasting a good amount of my time (it took 17 mins to cook 6 cookies) and a lot of flour. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
These are great! It was quick and easy to make, the only thing, they were a little more cakey than I expected. But the whole family loved them. I made them a few hours ago, and there is only 2 left! Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
these were the worst cookies i have ever made. they would have been great with beans though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
It tasted more like a biscuit then a sugar cookie. It had hardly any taste and the texture was not pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I hated these cookies. They didn't flatten at all, so I had big round ball cookies. They also had really no flavor, kind of like a ball of moist flour. I almost threw the batter out, but since it was cold in the house I decided to keep the oven running and cook the rest of them as a treat for our 3 dogs. I just wish I hadn't used up my ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I made these cookies with vanilla and almond like others have mentioned. They turned out great! While they were baking, I made some cream cheese frosting and added food coloring. My kids had a blast decorating them for our Christmas party, and they tasted great too! I think next time I will add a little more vanilla to them. This was a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I made these for Christmas. Well needless to say, its about 2 wks from Christmas and these cookies are gone already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
It is really good! I use it every time I make sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This recipe DOES turn out to be like a cake and in fact i put it into a cake pan and when it was baked, I cut it into six pieces. My sister loved the out come of this recipe. I thought it reminded me of White cornbread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
these cookies were very easy to make but they taste too much like cornbread. the constincency is exactly what i was looking for, but it really needs the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States