Big Soft Sugar Cookie Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is Heidi the poster of the original recipe. I just want to say that these cookies are definitely a regional thing. I live in Amish country of PA and we like things bread-y here. The cookies are certainly not meant to be eaten without the frosting as they are kind of plain by themselves. I must say, though, I love the idea of turning the plain cookies into shortcakes. Thank you for the idea. I'm glad that most people have enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenhester

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These are great! I love the texture and the crumb. My dough wasn't too thick, in fact I had to add about 1/2 cup more flour. I used Crisco instead of margarine and added 1 tsp of salt. I also added 1 tsp Almond Extract and 2 tsps Vanilla. The secret to these cookies is to beat the shortning, sugar and eggs until fluffy! Only stir in the flour. These are fantastic! Thank you Heidi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guys Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I should have read the reviews first but I was in a hurry...they taste like CORNBREAD. nice cornbread recipe, awful cookie recipe. I'm really upset that I wasted all of these ingredients, I could've used the last of my flour for something better than this .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These are AMAZING! Just like the BIG SOFT CHEWY ones you get at the store. If you are looking for the thin small ones this recipe is not for you. If you are looking for a big chewy cake-like cookie than this is for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. Just like the iced cookies you buy at the store but better. These are not meant to be eaten without the frosting. I did add vanilla to the dough as I like that flavor running through the cookie too. 9 minutes in a convection oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I didn,t care for these cookies. they're more like a sweet biscit not a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
easy to make but has no taste! and it made a ton more than what it said it would
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Heidi, thankyouthankyouthankyou for this simple and easy recipe! My 11 year old son and I threw these together after dinner this evening and they are perfect - moist and fluffy! Not too sweet but a little icing goes a long way. We pushed down the heaping spoonfuls so they would flatten a little more. We 're not big on super-sweet, so these were an excellent option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Big and soft, but not much taste- more like a shortcake than a sugar cookie. I guess the frosting would make it, but no one likes frosting here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States