Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
five stars! Next time I will use brown sugar. Has anyone tried adding choc chips to this? Molasses and Choc are a favorite combo and am just wondering how the presence of the chips would affect the soft puffiness of the cookie?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe. Mine didn't "fluff" as much as I thoughbut they were still delicious. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Love these, and always double the batch - they won't go to waste! Couple tips: 1) Instead of "shaping dough into walnut sized balls," use a small ice cream scooper to scoop balls directly into the bowl of sugar - much cleaner that way, and all the cookies turn out the same size. Yummy!! 2) I never use the prescribed 2 T of sugar for rolling the balls....I just put about 1/2-1 cup of sugar in a bowl and roll away...then toss the remaining sugar. Having a little more makes that part go a little faster/easier. 3) Finally, if your molasses is running low (I used up the last of ours), put the bottle in the microwave for 10-20 seconds and the remaining amount stuck to the bottom will pour our more easily. Also...use the tip by other reviewer - spray your measuring cup with cooking spray before measuring the molasses into your cookie dough mix...makes it MUCH easier to get it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I love these. They've become my "signature" cookie at all the Christmas events. I follow the recipe exactly, except for flattening - I just leave them in a ball and they bake to a perfect puffy shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
If you want the darker brown cracked top look, you need to substitute dark brown sugar for the white in the cookie dough. Still roll in white sugar. I always use the small cookie scoop and bake on parchment. 9 minutes is perfect in my oven. p.s. I reduce the flour by 1/4 cup and omit the water altogether. I also add 1/2 cup small pieces candied ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is the best ginger cookie recipe. I used orange juice instead of water like some others and it made this cookie great. It was a big hit and my teenage daughter(who doesn't like anything mind you)is asking for more and to put this on my normal cookie rotation! Delish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Kover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
My family LOVED these cookies...trying to keep them away so I have some left for Christmas cookie plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Delicious. I needed a lot more sugar to roll the cookies in. My fingers got very sticky from the dough so I used flour to help make my fingers less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made these for the first time last week with my 2 year old daughter. Had to make a few changes, I didn't have margarine on hand so switch out for unsalted butter. Also did not have molasses, where I live it's not possible to source, so changed out for brown sugar instead of white, and substituted maple syrup. I was a bit worried that it would turn out too sweet, but they came out fantastic! Soft and chewy, with just a touch of crispness on the edges. Tasted just like Christmas, but I think I will start making them year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Delicious! I read a lot of reviews and doubled the recipe! I used plain Greek yogurt for half the butter,added 1/4 tsp fresh squeezed OJ and 1/4 tsp apricot brandy! I increased the baking soda to 1 1/2 tsp. per a review and used 1/2 tsp cloves & 1/2 tsp. allspice. This is a delicious recipe and I enjoyed making it even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,902) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States