Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
These cookies were delicious! I wanted to make real gingerbread men and this is what I did to make it work: Placed cookie dough in fridge for 20 minutes (to make easier to work with), after that I put a piece of wax paper onto my working surface, sprinkled generously with flour, placed a portion of cookie dough onto paper and sprinkled generously with flour then place another piece of wax paper on top then I rolled out flat to cut out gingerbread men. I ended up making then very thin, not on purpose, but I loved it. I used the Royal Icing II recipe to decorate these cookies. I am new to cookie cutting and using royal icing - this all took a lot of time but I would do it again because the cookies were a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I tried this recipe however I used 1/4 cup of cinnamon apple sauce instead of the egg. I had to add a bit more flour because the dough was too sticky at first. Once I got the consistency right....They came out great, dangerous great! Like I think I may not be making them again until I have other people to share them with! Hahaha Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Awesome...I added 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Family and friends couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made this cookie for my friends and they loved it. At first it was too sticky to shape but the taste is delicious. I avoid covering the dough with sugar because I didin't want it to have sugar on top but still it tastes very good. I am going to double the ingredients because I got 16 cookies eventhough I shaped them just like walnuts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agape73
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Mmmm deliciosas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I just made these for my mother in law and they are wonderful. I took the advice of others and used fresh squeezed orange juice in place of the water. I also increased the ginger to a full tablespoon (she loves ginger) and used 1/3c sugar and 1/3c stevia to cut back a bit (she's pre-diabetic) and they are still plenty sweet. I had no problem rolling them into balls and I did roll them in sugar & flatten them a bit. 10 minutes was perfect. Very good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TREENBIE
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Really nice moist cookie. Mine weren't as dark in colour as some of the pictures. Maybe you need to use blackstrap molasses? Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREENBIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Blakely
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Perfect recipe! I followed it to a tee, and everyone loved them. I did not find the dough too sticky as others have mentioned, and I used fancy molasses. I also forgot to "flatten slightly" and it was no issue at all. Going to add this to my favourites :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Blakely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I have been thinking about baking more of these cookies since last week. They are, by far, the best ginger molasses cookies I've ever had. Super easy to make. . . even easier to devour! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,892) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States