Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Very good basic cookie. The last time I made them I baked 1/2 the batch a bit longer as my husband like a crispy cookie and they turned out very well that way too. I also like to roll them in sugar before baking and sprinkle with drops of water. Sounds funny but it gives them a very pretty look and adds a hint of crunch to the outside while still soft inside. Yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I tried this recipe . Going by some of the other reviews I did a couple of things of my own. I used "I can't Believe its not butter all-purpose baking sticks" instead of margarine , I never use margarine . Then I added just a little extra flour about 3 handfuls which probably equaled out to about 3/4-1 cup extra and my cookies turned out great..real good and picture perfect had no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina maynard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The most delicious ginger cookies. Molasses and cloves do their thing for the extra flavor. Better double the recipe ~ gone in a jiffy! Easy recipe and a real hit with friends. I fill tins as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The only changes I made were subbing OJ for water and chilling the dough overnight, then thawing for maybe 30 minutes before trying to roll it into balls. They came out super thin and cakey and all melted together. Had to throw them away :( They tasted fine, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These are really good. Amazing. And without complicated ingredients. I had everything in my pantry. Ideal for cooking on the snowy day outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
these came out perfect. delicious. soft and I even added a little more ginger. I used butter instead of margarine because I don't use margarine. these made it to my fave cookie top 3 list for sure! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I love this recipe, made it for a goodies day at work and my coworkers still want me to bring in more. Flying colors with the family as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anitakennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Best ginger cookies I've ever had. My husband (who doesn't really love ginger cookies generally) said this was the best cookie on our Christmas plate this year and that we should "definitely save this one!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Excellently! I always get great reviews when I make these cookies. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
LOWER CALORIE, LOWER FAT VERSION: I modified this recipe to make it lower fat & lower calorie. Instead of 3/4 cup margarine, I used 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I used 1 cup Truvia in place of 1 cup sugar. I also added an extra egg white to the recipe on top of the one whole egg (thinking it might make it more cake-like). The batter ended up pretty sticky/wet, so I added another 1/4 flour, and I had to spoon the batter onto the cookie sheet. The cookies puffed up nicely and did not flatten out too much. They came out soft and moist, and the applesauce added a nice hint of apples/fall flavor. They came out very sweet, so I might cut back on the applesauce a little next time. Also, with less oil, they left a very thin film under the cookies when I peeled them off, so you may want to lightly grease the sheet, but I was OK with the very thin film of cookie it left behind. I am not a cook, and this was a first attempt in many years at "baked goods", but I'm pleased with the recipe, and will make them again! In an effort to get away from processed foods, I'm thrilled that these were easy, quick, and healthier than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States