Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
LOWER CALORIE, LOWER FAT VERSION: I modified this recipe to make it lower fat & lower calorie. Instead of 3/4 cup margarine, I used 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I used 1 cup Truvia in place of 1 cup sugar. I also added an extra egg white to the recipe on top of the one whole egg (thinking it might make it more cake-like). The batter ended up pretty sticky/wet, so I added another 1/4 flour, and I had to spoon the batter onto the cookie sheet. The cookies puffed up nicely and did not flatten out too much. They came out soft and moist, and the applesauce added a nice hint of apples/fall flavor. They came out very sweet, so I might cut back on the applesauce a little next time. Also, with less oil, they left a very thin film under the cookies when I peeled them off, so you may want to lightly grease the sheet, but I was OK with the very thin film of cookie it left behind. I am not a cook, and this was a first attempt in many years at "baked goods", but I'm pleased with the recipe, and will make them again! In an effort to get away from processed foods, I'm thrilled that these were easy, quick, and healthier than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Simple and delicious... Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oma Jeannette
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Just made my own batch and they smell wonderful, and look and taste even better!! Love this recipe!! And hopefully, so will my grandson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
These cookies were delicious and easy to make. I have made this recipe two times. The first time, they came out very flat. The second time I made them, I omitted the water and added an additional tablespoon of flour. They came out perfect. My kids love them too. I love the combination of spices. I will definitely be baking these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacey
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I made recipe exact with modification of adding 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Excellent cookie! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
These cookies barely make it out of the oven before my boyfriend devours over half of them! I've made them several times and always had fantastic results! I find my dough not sticky and difficult, and I don't flatten the dough in the pan. I've also very successfully made double and even triple batches. I do invest a lot of time and muscle power into really fluffing the butter and sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Just made these for the first time and my family went crazy. Did them in my stand mixer...quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
These cookies were delicious! I wanted to make real gingerbread men and this is what I did to make it work: Placed cookie dough in fridge for 20 minutes (to make easier to work with), after that I put a piece of wax paper onto my working surface, sprinkled generously with flour, placed a portion of cookie dough onto paper and sprinkled generously with flour then place another piece of wax paper on top then I rolled out flat to cut out gingerbread men. I ended up making then very thin, not on purpose, but I loved it. I used the Royal Icing II recipe to decorate these cookies. I am new to cookie cutting and using royal icing - this all took a lot of time but I would do it again because the cookies were a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I tried this recipe however I used 1/4 cup of cinnamon apple sauce instead of the egg. I had to add a bit more flour because the dough was too sticky at first. Once I got the consistency right....They came out great, dangerous great! Like I think I may not be making them again until I have other people to share them with! Hahaha Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Awesome...I added 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States