Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Great easy ginger cookie recipe. I've been on the hunt for a "large, soft" ginger cookie recipe since having to pay my left arm for one at the coffee shop. As called for in the recipe, I used margarine instead of better (which I NEVER do) because I really wanted a chewy cookie (as opposed to a flattened version by using butter). Cookie held their shape beautifully - didn't grow nor shrink - and I wouldn't have known it was margarine if I hadn't used it myself. If you want a 4" cookie, don't be stingy on the dough when you roll and press it - it's not going to get any bigger or thicker than the raw cookie. Certainly a good recipe to send the smells wafting through the house. I personally like more spices so will try again with more molasses and spice and of course, make them a lot larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Truly delicious. I like to make them with butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justadozenofus
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This recipe was amazing! Gotta try it when you get a chance. Roll it in powder sugar; makes it perfect! My mom wants me to make them every night. My mom said there the best cookies she's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
These were easy and great. Rated a "top cookie" by the person I gifted them to. My husband usually turns his nose up at anything other than chocolate chip, but he wanted to eat these all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Made these today with a group of ladies. I was surprised at how crunchy the outside of the cookie is but the inside is perfectly chewy. Huge hit with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Flail92
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made this today for the first time and they turned out perfect and soft and delicious! I tweaked it (of course) - by adding 2 tsp of cornstarch, used 1 tsp of fresh grated ginger (added to the wet mix) and 1 tsp ground dry ginger (in the dry mix), used allspice instead of cloves, 1/2 c. Earth balance and 1/4 c. of sunflower oil, and used 90 ml of brown sugar and 90 ml of white sugar (total of 3/4 cup of sugar - not as potent as a full cup!), I used 1 tbsp. of orange juice as suggested in the comments and used egg replacer since I can't eat eggs. This turned out amazing! I will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Really delicious gingerbread cookies. Paired these with "Gingerbread Cookie Frosting" from this site to decorate. For the first batch, I left out the last step (to roll in sugar before baking) since I planned to use a sweet icing after, but for the second batch, I rolled as directed and they came out great, with or without icing. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING. I've made it a dozen times it's my no fail, go-to cookie recipe. I like to add a few tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder and I use butter instead of margarine. So good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
These are great, definitely going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States