Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Soft chewey: made a slight adjustment by adding 1/2 cup brown sugar and deleting 1/2 cup white sugar. UMmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I did not change a thing and this recipe was a big hit. I will recommend refrigerating the dough as others mentioned for about 30-40 minutes prior to rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Outstanding! Perfect flavor, perfect texture. Definite keeper of a recipe. I would definitely chill the dough for at last 30 minutes, maybe an hour before forming into balls. I had one batch that I baked without chilling and they spread too much for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Tasty....added white pepper to step up the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
These cookies are amazing! The spices are just right as is the texture. I doubled the recipe and followed it exactly, the dough did not need to be chilled. I will defiantly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julies Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
1st time using this recipe and I'm pretty happy with the outcome! The dough was tacky but I didn't find It too difficult to manage. Using orange juice instead of the water was a great suggestion and I didn't flatten the balls before cooking and they still flattened out nicely. I used butter instead of margarine so I'm not sure if that makes a huge difference?? Great cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
These cookies are AMAZING. I used butter instead of margarine and used the helpful tip to spray cooking spray so molasses didn't stick! They are super soft and a delectable balance of spices. My husband who doesn't typically like gingerbread cookies ate several of these right away :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
OH MY GOSH. Even if you're not sure, just make them. They're amazing. The longer they bake the darker they get and turn out like a ginger snap. Let them bake long enough that the tops look crackly. You're also going to need more than 2tbs of sugar to roll them in. Go 2tbs in bowl at a time though and refill as needed to minimize waste. ...Amazing cookies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made with butter. I thought they were good right out of the oven, then I tried one the next day. Even better. Oh my goodness! I made sandwich cookies with these and a pumpkin cheesecake mousse. Absolutely delightful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
AMAZING. My adjustments: Substitute butter-flavored Crisco for margarine. (Easy to work with, rich flavor, creamy texture.) You guys don't understand- these cookies are dangerous. They will disappear in a day and you will be like, What? Where did they go? I don't remember eating all of those! But you DID. You did, and that's why you can't fit into your jeans any more. I've made this recipe dozens of times. Every time it's a little bit different, due to weather/humidity/my own imperfections, but that's okay. Sometimes I squish the cookies flatter, sometimes thicker, sometimes they're crispier and sometimes they're chewier. But every time they have been DELICIOUS. You can't go wrong, so just jump right in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Voorhees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 3,903) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States