Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Fantastic. Just made them with my preschool daughter. Substituted the 5 TBs of brown sugar instead of the molasses and water. Although the batter was a little crumbly, we squeezed the last balls of dough together. Under bake to 8 mins if you use a convection oven, for chewy, otherwise you get ginger snaps, which are tasty too. Will try original recipe and substitute water with either OJ or liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made absolutely GORGEOUS cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These are what they say. I have even over cooked a few and still wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I took these to a get-together and they were a big hit! Within 20 minutes of hitting the table, all two dozen were gone. I ended up goosing up the spices in this recipe because I tend to like a spicier gingerbread. 3 tsp ginger, a full tsp of cinnamon, a splash of orange extract, a few dashes of nutmeg, and a pinch of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Harper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I added the OJ and refrigerated for an hour. I used butter instead of margarine. They turned out perfect. Used the red sprinkled sugar for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Loved it! Wonderful flavor, soft on the inside, and crunchy on the outside. Based on other reviews, I did change the one cup of sugar to 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of white sugar (total sugar reduced because I like my cookies less sweet). And only other difference is that I needed to bake my cookies longer, for 12-13 minutes, for the inside to be fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I love that these aren't hard like ginger snaps. Yes, there is a lot of butter but you just can't go wrong with these when following the recipe exactly. Definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
These are absolutely delectable! The only change I made was to use brown sugar in place of white. I like the rich flavor of brown sugar. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper and some gourmet chocolate pieces. These are probably the best cookies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
They are very yummy! The dough is really sticky though makes it hard to roll them so I just used 2 spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Easy to make and delicious! I didn't have clove so used nutmeg instead. I'm going to continue to experiment with ingredients. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,892) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States