Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Perfect cookie :) Full-fat, grass fed, butter with any baking venture is ideal imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I love ginger cookies and liked that molasses was added to this batter, too. These were very good and soft but came out flatter than the picture. I did not use margarine, I used butter but that shouldn't have affected them. I'm in high altitude and didn't see any specific directions. Maybe I need to research that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Tastes delicious! Batter was too gooey to roll so i put in fridge for 30 min and it was still gooey so i just spooned onto cookie sheet and sprinkled with sugar. They really spread out so leave enough room between them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Soft, spicy, delicious! I love this recipe. I add a little more ginger and chopped some of my candied ginger and threw that in as well. I ran out of white flour and substituted 3/4 cup whole wheat and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HearthCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent ginger cookie! My mother usually hates gingersnaps, and this is her new favorite. Used all butter and a little ground ginger in the cinnamon sugar to roll them. Just a little extra spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great, great recipe! I am a huge fan of ginger and these are too good, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delicious! But it took me 4 times to figure out how to get the cookie I wanted (all using the same batch of dough) I used butter instead of margarine and increased the ground cloves to 1 teaspoon. I also combined everything in one bowl, combining wet ingredients first and then adding the dry so as to not have too much clean up. I then let it cool in the freezer for 30 minutes so the dough was easier to work with. I wanted a very specific looking cookie when I found this recipe - I wanted huge cookies with cracked tops. This is what I learned from the 4 batches I made - gently flatten with your finger tips if you want cracked tops - don't use the bottom of a glass. The more free air incorporated into the dough will help with cracking and using the bottom of a glass took too much of the air out of the dough. I also think that if you add a few small separate pieces of dough to the top of the cookie and just tap them on top - you will increase your chances of cracks. If you want big cookies - use a lot more than a walnut size as instructed. For my big cookies the dough ball was closer to a ping-pong ball in size. I flattened gently with my finger tips until they were approximately 2 inches in diameter and about 1/3-inch high. I did not dip in sugar. I upped the oven temperature to 380 degrees and baked for 9 minutes. I uploaded a picture showing all 4 batches I made - the 4th batch was the winner as far as looks go - but they all taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I really liked these. I was looking for a soft gingerbread cookie that I didn't have to roll out. I would have liked a little more spice, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing cookies!! They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States