Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I love these. They've become my "signature" cookie at all the Christmas events. I follow the recipe exactly, except for flattening - I just leave them in a ball and they bake to a perfect puffy shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
If you want the darker brown cracked top look, you need to substitute dark brown sugar for the white in the cookie dough. Still roll in white sugar. I always use the small cookie scoop and bake on parchment. 9 minutes is perfect in my oven. p.s. I reduce the flour by 1/4 cup and omit the water altogether. I also add 1/2 cup small pieces candied ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is the best ginger cookie recipe. I used orange juice instead of water like some others and it made this cookie great. It was a big hit and my teenage daughter(who doesn't like anything mind you)is asking for more and to put this on my normal cookie rotation! Delish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Kover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
My family LOVED these cookies...trying to keep them away so I have some left for Christmas cookie plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Delicious. I needed a lot more sugar to roll the cookies in. My fingers got very sticky from the dough so I used flour to help make my fingers less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made these for the first time last week with my 2 year old daughter. Had to make a few changes, I didn't have margarine on hand so switch out for unsalted butter. Also did not have molasses, where I live it's not possible to source, so changed out for brown sugar instead of white, and substituted maple syrup. I was a bit worried that it would turn out too sweet, but they came out fantastic! Soft and chewy, with just a touch of crispness on the edges. Tasted just like Christmas, but I think I will start making them year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Delicious! I read a lot of reviews and doubled the recipe! I used plain Greek yogurt for half the butter,added 1/4 tsp fresh squeezed OJ and 1/4 tsp apricot brandy! I increased the baking soda to 1 1/2 tsp. per a review and used 1/2 tsp cloves & 1/2 tsp. allspice. This is a delicious recipe and I enjoyed making it even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These are not only the best cookies I have ever made, but they might even be the best cookie I have ever had. I did substitute butter for margarine and orange juice for water. I am about to make another batch since I don't think the ones I just made will last until our holiday party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Gluten free. Substituted gluten free flour for wheat ( added an extra 3 tbs or so until soft dough consistency). I also replaced margarine with coconut oil. The result is wonderful ! I am already making a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These taste amazing! I have no idea what other people did, but I had no issues with the batter. Wasn't sticky, and I could easily form balls with it. Didn't even have to chill it. They came out nice, thick, and round. Only difference I did was ground the cloves myself since I couldn't find any already done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States