Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These cookies are delicious and easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made these for my boyfriend yesterday. Now we're talking about a wedding. Coincidence, you say? You make these cookies, then decide. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Definately a refrigerator dough. No way you could roll it into balls as is. I left it in the freezer overnite and then took out one third of it at a time. The cookies were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made these for my family and they loved it. I accidentally burnt them on the edges but yet my siblings loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Ea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I didn't even read the ratings before making this recipe, but I knew before I started that I wanted them to taste like my favorite 'orange spice crackles'. Instead of the water I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of orange extract- next time I will increase that to 2 1/2 teaspoons. I love the orange flavor with the spices and I doubt the orange juice suggested by others would even make a difference. I used shortening (1/2 cup) plus goat milk butter (1/4 cup) due to a milk allergy and these came out perfectly. I didn't have any issues with needing to freeze or refrigerate the dough prior to rolling. I used turbinado sugar to roll the cookies in before placing on the cookie sheet. My husband said that the turbinado made these cookies. It gave them a crunch compared to the chewy texture of the cookie and a nice extra sweetness. These are much easier to make than the orange spice crackles I make at Christmas-and will become a regular at our house. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made these cookies for a friend who said they hadn't had "soft ginger cookies" since they were a kid. I had never heard of them so of course I looked them up on all recipes.com. I made the cookies the first time exactly according to the recipe except using OJ in lieu of water. Everyone loved them. I then tried a few tweaks as wanted them just a bit chewier. I had stumbled across a gourmet sugar called Dark Muscavado Cane sugar( India Tree Gourmet spices , Seattle, WA from the island of Mauritus) . So I followed the above recipe except substituted the Dark Muscavado sugar for regular sugar, added a pinch of cardamom in addition to the spices listed, and added a teaspoon of apricot preserves hoping it would deliver the additional "chewiness" and avoid cracking. I did have to put the finished mixture in the freezer for a 1/2 hour in clear saran wrap to firm it up. Next time I will probably put the dough in the refrigerator overnight. I never used muscaovado cane sugar before and since it has a bit of molasses content in the cane sugar itself I think it enhanced the already delicious flavor of this great soft cookie ginger recipe. So glad this recipe was shared I will come back to it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These are awesome!! I made mine bigger, so I get a dozen out of this recipe. I spray my hands with cooking spray when rolling them. Doesn't stick to your hands. Then cover with sugar and put on cookie sheet. I don't have to flatten them when I make them bigger. They turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
the BEST recipe!!! I love this recipe I make it every year for the past 3 years for xmas! and even sometimes when my husband ask for them :) they are soft and moist inside! they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I love these cookies! I bake them every year for Christmas and everyone always looks forward to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States