Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
One of the best cookies EVER. Made them for Xmas to bring to school. They sat untouched compared to all the extravagant other cookies, but I forced people to try them. The result: my friend held two cookies in each hand literally SHOVING them in his mouth because they all got eaten in five minutes; there was a mad rush to get them and needless to say I brought none back home. Only problem with the recipe I can see is that the dough is very sticky and hard to form in balls. My suggestion is to drop the dough directly into the sugar and then form the balls as the sugar coats the dough and allows you to roll it. Also, I used a tablespoon of orange juice instead of water to bring out the ginger flavor and it worked extremely well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
These cookies are delicious!! They are also easy to make but you need to let the mix sit for a good 40-50 minutes before rolling into cookie form, otherwise you'll just be playing with a big gooey mess. I wish I knew that before I got my hands in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1647 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wailuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
these cookies are very tasty, granted, yes. however, i was terribly annoyed to find that i had big gingerbread balls because of the directive: lightly flatten cookie. you need to really flatten the cookie out to get a result like that in the photo. i would make them again, and will really squash em down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
If I could have rated these 10 stars, I would have. These cookies were autumn/winter perfection! Moist and chewy all the way through. I made mine smaller, rolling the dough into about 3/4 inch balls. They came out the size of a ginger snap. I made the first batch to give as a gift, but they disappeared before I could give them away. Now I have to make another batch tonight. Thank you for a recipe I'll use for years to come. *edit* On the second batch I took the advice of another reviewer and used orange juice instead of water. I didn't think it would make that much of a difference, but the subtle change MADE these cookies. My boyfriend considers himself a cookie connoisseur (and a picky one to boot) and he says these are the best cookies he's ever eaten - bar none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
654 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
WARNING...DANGER AHEAD...do not make these cookies unless you are on an all cookie diet. You have been warned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
512 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Oh, my gosh... These are so good! The spices balance out nicely. We usually go for chocolate chip cookies, but even my picky 7-year-old son loves these. I doubled the recipe and used 1 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of margarine to get the buttery taste. Instead of water, I followed other reviewers' advice and used fresh orange juice. However, I'm not sure the juice made any difference. Before measuring the molasses, I sprayed the measuring cup with cooking spray so the molasses would slide out easily. I rolled the dough into 1-inch balls to yield more cookies. I will definitely use this recipe again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabrina De Paulo
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Wow! These are the best cookies ever! They came out looking great - tasted even better! Like others, I also put the dough into the freezer for about 30 minutes. It makes a HUGE difference. I baked mine for 10 minutes - they still stayed moist. I am planning to give these cookies as gifts for Christmas. Thanks for the great recipe! **Unfortunately, these cookies didn't last long enough to give away as gifts. So I made another batch - this time I used fresh grated ginger, and instead of water for the liquid, I used Brandy-Orange Liqueur. What a difference! A nice taste for the holidays. Next time, I'll try Grand Marnier, Cointreau, Spiced Rum, etc....the possibilities are endless! Thanks again for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina De Paulo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I made these cookies for a cookie exchange. They were a big hit and people wouldn't stop eating them. My husband probably ate three dozen by himself. When rolling them into balls, spray cooking spray on your hands to keep them from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe delivers...soft, fantastic ginger cookies. This is my first attempt ever at making ginger cookies and I am so happy with this recipe that it is already in my collection of favorites. I wanted to add...I froze a few and then put a scoop of vanilla ice cream between two for the most incredible ice cream cookie sandwich. They remind me of the ones found during the holidays in the shape of gingerbread men...I think Perry's makes them. I modified it a bit by using 2 1/2 c. flour to help with the stickiness of the dough-placing it in the refrigerator for an hour or the freezer for 15 min. also helps. I also increased the spices slightly, used 1 1/2 tsp of baking soda, added 1 TBSP vanilla and used brown sugar instead of white. I also used 6 TBSP butter and 6 TBSP of light butter because I didn't realize I was out of regular butter until I started the recipe. These are so good that you won't even need that air tight container LOL...Thank you Amy for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I just finished making these for Thanksgiving. I followed the directions exactly and they came out perfect. I did put the batter in the fridge for one hour, doing that made them easier to work with. O.k., the only complaint I have (and it is totally a taste preference)was that rolling them in sugar was a little overkill for me. They tasted very sweet (but really good). The sugar leaves an after taste. Hopefully by tomorrow the flavors will have mellowed out a little. I will make these again and will nix the rolling in the sugar. Update: On Thankgiving and the next day after these tasted better than when I first made them. I did have some comments on them being slightly sweet. I might just sprinkle some sugar on top rather than rolling the balls in sugar because these cookies are sooo good! Oh, and try putting some cool whip between two cookies, this makes a yummy cookie sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States