Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made these for my boyfriend yesterday. Now we're talking about a wedding. Coincidence, you say? You make these cookies, then decide. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Definately a refrigerator dough. No way you could roll it into balls as is. I left it in the freezer overnite and then took out one third of it at a time. The cookies were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made these for my family and they loved it. I accidentally burnt them on the edges but yet my siblings loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Ea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I didn't even read the ratings before making this recipe, but I knew before I started that I wanted them to taste like my favorite 'orange spice crackles'. Instead of the water I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of orange extract- next time I will increase that to 2 1/2 teaspoons. I love the orange flavor with the spices and I doubt the orange juice suggested by others would even make a difference. I used shortening (1/2 cup) plus goat milk butter (1/4 cup) due to a milk allergy and these came out perfectly. I didn't have any issues with needing to freeze or refrigerate the dough prior to rolling. I used turbinado sugar to roll the cookies in before placing on the cookie sheet. My husband said that the turbinado made these cookies. It gave them a crunch compared to the chewy texture of the cookie and a nice extra sweetness. These are much easier to make than the orange spice crackles I make at Christmas-and will become a regular at our house. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made these cookies for a friend who said they hadn't had "soft ginger cookies" since they were a kid. I had never heard of them so of course I looked them up on all recipes.com. I made the cookies the first time exactly according to the recipe except using OJ in lieu of water. Everyone loved them. I then tried a few tweaks as wanted them just a bit chewier. I had stumbled across a gourmet sugar called Dark Muscavado Cane sugar( India Tree Gourmet spices , Seattle, WA from the island of Mauritus) . So I followed the above recipe except substituted the Dark Muscavado sugar for regular sugar, added a pinch of cardamom in addition to the spices listed, and added a teaspoon of apricot preserves hoping it would deliver the additional "chewiness" and avoid cracking. I did have to put the finished mixture in the freezer for a 1/2 hour in clear saran wrap to firm it up. Next time I will probably put the dough in the refrigerator overnight. I never used muscaovado cane sugar before and since it has a bit of molasses content in the cane sugar itself I think it enhanced the already delicious flavor of this great soft cookie ginger recipe. So glad this recipe was shared I will come back to it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These are awesome!! I made mine bigger, so I get a dozen out of this recipe. I spray my hands with cooking spray when rolling them. Doesn't stick to your hands. Then cover with sugar and put on cookie sheet. I don't have to flatten them when I make them bigger. They turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
the BEST recipe!!! I love this recipe I make it every year for the past 3 years for xmas! and even sometimes when my husband ask for them :) they are soft and moist inside! they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I love these cookies! I bake them every year for Christmas and everyone always looks forward to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States