Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I just made these for my mother in law and they are wonderful. I took the advice of others and used fresh squeezed orange juice in place of the water. I also increased the ginger to a full tablespoon (she loves ginger) and used 1/3c sugar and 1/3c stevia to cut back a bit (she's pre-diabetic) and they are still plenty sweet. I had no problem rolling them into balls and I did roll them in sugar & flatten them a bit. 10 minutes was perfect. Very good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TREENBIE
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Really nice moist cookie. Mine weren't as dark in colour as some of the pictures. Maybe you need to use blackstrap molasses? Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREENBIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Blakely
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Perfect recipe! I followed it to a tee, and everyone loved them. I did not find the dough too sticky as others have mentioned, and I used fancy molasses. I also forgot to "flatten slightly" and it was no issue at all. Going to add this to my favourites :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Blakely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I have been thinking about baking more of these cookies since last week. They are, by far, the best ginger molasses cookies I've ever had. Super easy to make. . . even easier to devour! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
These cookies are absolutely delicious. They have become a favourite in my house. And have definitely become a must over the holidays. If I only make 1 batch of cookies, these are the priority. So soft and flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emu
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Okay, for all those folks who somehow messed up this recipe...try it again! The only changes I made was butter instead of margarine, and the orange juice for water. But honestly, I followed everything else to a tee, and I never bake. These cookies were perfect. By the way, do freeze/refrigerate the dough for an hour. I made two batches. Tip: If you want the craggy, textured surface, do not flatten the cookies as shown in the video. I did that the first time; cookies were delicious but smooth/flat. Leave them walnut-shaped. I also noticed that I because I made them so large, they needed a couple of extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made these cookies today and thought they would be great after all the great reviews but they were not at all what I thought they would be. I chilled the dough and floured my hands and the cookie dough was way too sticky and goopy to shape into balls. I ended up spooning them onto a pan and just springing sugar on them. They baked okay (although they were incredibly flat), smelled great, and tasted fine. I think that the spices were a little overpowering though. They were okay, but I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coppock 7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
A great recipe! I doubled the recipe for an office cookie exchange, and made a few changes (listed below, for the doubled recipe) 1 1/2 tsp fresh ground or grated ginger An additional egg white A few tablespoons more flour. I would have used 2 - 2 1/2 tsp of ginger, and a whole egg extra. The flour is just to balance the extra wet ingredients. The dough is very delicate - I let my dough chill in the fridge for about 45 minutes, but that wasn't enough to chill the whole batch. Two hours is probably enough. This probably could be turned into gingerbread mini cupcakes by simply scooping the dough into a room temp pan and baking them. It's been almost a week since I made them, and they are still soft and melt In your mouth tender. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but did follow the advice of other reviewers and refrigerated the dough for an hour. This came out great - I had to make another batch two days later because they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Delish! I made them smaller, about half dollar size and the were soft and good. A good complement to my Christmas cookie collection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States