Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I cut the sugar by one-third and doubled both the ginger and the cinnamon so they were spicier. I also used butter instead of margarine. Fantastic! Will make them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
My kids loved these!! They are easy and keep well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
These cookies are really good. Really, REALLY good! I made them at Christmas time last year and they didn't last long enough to be included in the cookie plates that I give to people. Changes I made - I used butter instead of margarine. I added a couple teaspoons of fresh grated ginger and about 1/4 cup chopped candied ginger. After rolling into balls and placing them on the baking sheets, I put the cookies in the freezer for about 10 minutes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Followed recipe exactly; ended up with 29 cookies that were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelcatrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I was looking for a recipe that was similar to the gingersnap cookies I get at Great Harvest Bread Co. This recipe was it! I've made these probably 4 times and always have compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I love these cookies. My family beg me to make more! I like how they stay soft. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Totally amazing make these all the time everyone justs loves them made them exactly the way the recipe calls for turned out amazing people actually thought they were from Tim hortons they were that good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
These turned out very good! A couple notes to help with the process that I had to figure out myself. After realizing the dough was pretty wet/tough to deal with, I just started scooping heaping tablespoons of the dough, dropping it into the sugar and moving the bowl around to coat it, once they are sugar coated they are much easier to move to the baking sheet. I did the cookies in two batches, the first batch I took out at about 9 minutes, thinking they were done and they deflated/flattened out a bit when cooling. The next batch I baked for a solid 10 minutes, making sure they were slightly browned and they turned out incredibly soft/airy and held their shape...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Kid approved! My batch made 33...disappeared quickly. Did not refrigerate dough - just dropped teaspoon sized globs into a sugared pie plate, rolled slightly and popped onto 3 cookie sheets. Don't need to press flat ...will do this on their own. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
The first time I made this recipe it was a DISASTER! I substituted butter for margerine. The second time I made them I used crisco. They were much better! I used a 9 grain flour in place of the all purpose flour. I ended up having to add an additional 1/4 c. flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 3,676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States