Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe to the "T" the first time and they were great. Second time I used OJ instead of water but over baked them a little. Third time I made them and did the following changes: used OJ instead of water, butter instead of margarine, and used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Third time was the ultimate winner. These were so delicious and I'm not even a big fan of ginger! I took it to work and someone told me the cookies made her day. I would definitely makes these again and again! I also put the dough in the fridge for about 30 minutes prior to shaping them. The negative reviews are interesting. I'm not an expert cook but this recipe contains a lot of wet ingredients (e.g. water and molasses) so expect the dough to be a little more runny than usual. Don't expect it to look thick and crackled like the picture (the person obviously modified the recipe). If you want it to look exactly like the picture then you'll have to tweak the recipe. I think the main culprit of the runny-ness and greasiness is margarine. Margarine is softer and contains more oil than butter. If you're still having trouble with your cookies check this site out: https://www.craftybaking.com/learn/baked-goods/cookies/problems-and-solutions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is my go to cookie recipe. The only thing I did different was grate in 1/2 tsp. fresh Ginger as well as the dry ginger. Makes a great difference. Even my grandchildren who love M & M cookies will request these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Platteville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
the first time i made this, the cookies turned out beautifully. i made some slight changes. i added double the required cinnamon. im vegan so i left out the egg as well as the salt. i switched the white sugar for cane sugar. i didn't have any cloves so they didnt get added either. regardless, i loved the result. i made this recipe again tonight. i am out of margarine so i substituted with vegetable shortening. if i ever use shortening again for this recipe it will be at least 1/4 cup less the flour, the mix was rather dry and i had to crush it together in my hands to make it stick and this was after i added an extra tbsp of water. im certain it was because the lack of margarine in it. anyway, this time i did have cloves. i will never use cloves again as they made the cookies taste like potpourri. other than that, GREAT recipe. i will just make sure to have plenty of margarine on hand for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These cookies turned out really good. i added white chocolate chips to add a little bit of sweetness. They were soft and chewy just what i was looking for with great flavor. Definitely give these cookies a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These were okay - not the ginger flavor I was hoping for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very easy and very good... used a cookie scoop to mold cookies before rolling into sugar. If you want to dress them up just do a light drizzle of melted white chocolate.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
They were good but I followed the recipe and they weren't the five star cookies I was expecting. Good cookies but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I have looked for years for a great ginger cookie recipe and now I have finally found it. They are nice and soft and stay that way in a sealed container. Follow the cooking times even though the cookies don't look like they are done. It was my husband who stopped me from adding time to the baking, and I'm sure glad he did. ENJOY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These were soft and wonderful and made beautiful gifts at Christmas. I had to adjust the cooking time, but everything else was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Home for the holidays, bored, decided to look for a recipe. Thankfully I came across this one! Couple changes to the recipe; Real butter not margarine, Added Tablespoon of brown sugar, also a splash of apple juice (would have used orange, i was out..). Before working with the dough I stuck it in the fridge for about an hour. I had no problem making these, they weren't sticky at all. Remember to flatten them before baking. Cooked for 11 minutes. Yum! Not the prettiest cookie but i love how they taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannuhhross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 3,817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States