Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These are excellent and easy to make. I also made them smaller so they were about the size of ginger snaps. I agree with another reviewer...you must mash them flat if you want them to look like the picture. I made them for Christmas gifts so I used red and green sugar when I rolled them. I also used Crisco baking sticks and the texture was perfect. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I love soft ginger cookies and this recipe did NOT disappoint! Big soft cookies bursting with ginger, cinnamon, and cloves! They taste even better the second day, if you don't eat them all first! Great for gifts at Christmas too! I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These will be a new favourite for the holidays and for my children's class parties. I gave to our neighbours for Christmas too! Really easy to make. You do need to let that dough chill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Made the recipe as is (just swapped margarine for butter) and turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have no problem with this cookie dough being too soft. I always bake with butter though. Sometimes I use some wholewheat flour too. We all love these and I get many compliments on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe worked out for me.....soft but chewy. Coincidentally, this recipe was almost exactly the one printed on the back of "Mother's Molasses" bottle. The amounts of the spices were different, (which is all a matter of personal taste anyway) as was the baking soda, which called for 2 teaspoons (I used 1 1/2) Also, I used brown sugar instead of white, which was what was called for on molasses bottle. I never use margarine, so I used butter instead. I refrigerated the dough for 1 hour and had no problem with stickiness shaping the balls (I also kept the dough refrigerated in between making batches) I did not have to flatten the balls, they baked perfectly. I also found that they baked best at around 8-9 minutes. The flavor was good, those of you that like more spice just have to experiment with this, but honestly, I don't know why people had all these different problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love gingersnaps. I've never had a soft ginger cookie before. We made these with our little ones (3 1/2 years old). We only made three modifications to the recipe: 1) substituted butter for margarine, that's what we had in the house, 2) instead of 2 1/2 cups of AP flour, we used 1 1/2 cups of AP and 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour - I wanted to see if it would create a dense cookie, it didn't and 3) to a third of the batch we added in white chocolate chips. We baked one batch for 9 minutes- soft in the middle, with a ever-so-slight crunch on the outside. We baked the second batch for 11 minutes- not quite gingersnap, but definitely more on the hard side. Verdict- delicious! I wasn't sure if my little kidabunks would like them - ginger being a strong scent and flavor, however my cookie-loving daughter devoured four of them. The next time we bake these, we are not going to roll them in sugar; it made them a bit too sweet- it doesn't need it. Thank you Amy for a delicious new cookie my family can enjoy making and eating together each Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good cookie,just couldn't get one batch to form into a ball or get them too look like the cookies displayed with the recipe. However, my husband loved them and my 6 year old says they are good, good, good! He asked if I could put frosting on them. I am thinking an orange glaze would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dipper
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I'm not a big fan of ginger cookies but even this recipe won me over. They are super chewy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have made these three times. The flavor is good, but you HAVE to chill the dough for a hour or two before working with it. Even if you were to do what others suggest and just drop the sticky dough into the sugar before balling it, the rest is much flatter and crispy. If you chill, form a ball, and THEN roll in sugar, you get the soft chewy cookie intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 3,759) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States