Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These have to be my favorite new cookie I tried this year. I rolled my cookie dough in very fine sugar. They were so simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I had high hope for these, but I will not make them again. I think I was expecting the chewy texture of a molasses crinkle cookie. I will try that one next time. These were fluffy, doughy cookies. I also expected a stronger molasses and spice taste. The worst part about these cookies was the process of making them. The dough was so wet that I had to put it in the fridge for at least an hour before trying to handle it. Even then it stuck to my hands when trying to roll it. It helped to coat my hands in sugar each time I rolled a new cookie. Finally, they looked nothing like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've been making these cookies for over 13 years and they are delicious! The literally melt in your mouth and I have friends and family requesting them year after year! One tip for those having issues with the texture of the batter when it's time to roll the dough into balls: If you literally stir in the ingredients with a wooden spoon, your dough will come out firm and you'll have no problem rolling the dough into balls. If you're using a handheld mixer, the dough becomes so firm you'll have to switch from your mixer to a wooden spoon halfway through. (Trust me: I've burned up two motors with this recipe. It was totally worth it too!) I used to do this recipe entirely by hand or with the aid of a handheld mixer, but I got tendonitis and can no longer stir in the dry ingredients. Now I have to use a high grade mixer to complete this recipe. With professional style mixers becoming the norm in household kitchens these days, you'll find that most people are using a low setting on their Kitchenaid or Cuisinart instead of literally stirring in the ingredients the old fashioned way. This creates a tackier, looser dough that requires 30-60 min in the fridge to bring it back to a firmer consistency. If you want to save yourself some refrigeration time (which I no longer have the option of doing), take the bowl out from under the mixer, grab your wooden spoon and stir when the recipe says to stir. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've made these for 3 years...it helps to cool the dough, but it's always going to be a little sticky. This year I rolled them smaller than usual and baked for 7 minutes. Perfect for a cookie tray, and well-balanced spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My friend and I had some issues. The dough was way too runny, so we put it in the freezer for a bit. It was still runny, not ball shaped and ready to be rolled into sugar. The flavour of the cookies is good, but the texture and look is awful. I have had more luck with other gingerbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These are excellent and easy to make. I also made them smaller so they were about the size of ginger snaps. I agree with another reviewer...you must mash them flat if you want them to look like the picture. I made them for Christmas gifts so I used red and green sugar when I rolled them. I also used Crisco baking sticks and the texture was perfect. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I love soft ginger cookies and this recipe did NOT disappoint! Big soft cookies bursting with ginger, cinnamon, and cloves! They taste even better the second day, if you don't eat them all first! Great for gifts at Christmas too! I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These will be a new favourite for the holidays and for my children's class parties. I gave to our neighbours for Christmas too! Really easy to make. You do need to let that dough chill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Made the recipe as is (just swapped margarine for butter) and turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have no problem with this cookie dough being too soft. I always bake with butter though. Sometimes I use some wholewheat flour too. We all love these and I get many compliments on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States