Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The most delicious ginger cookies. Molasses and cloves do their thing for the extra flavor. Better double the recipe ~ gone in a jiffy! Easy recipe and a real hit with friends. I fill tins as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Wahhh this recipe was a fail. I rarely have baking fails so I was horrified to see what happened here. The only changes I made were subbing OJ for water and chilling the dough overnight, then thawing for maybe 30 minutes before trying to roll it into balls... They came out super thin and cakey and all melted together. The taste was nice, but I just threw them all out which made me sad :( I would recommend chilling before rolling the dough balls but just suck it up and do it while they are hard - don't thaw or they'll be too soft and melt in the oven rather than baking up nice and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These are really good. Amazing. And without complicated ingredients. I had everything in my pantry. Ideal for cooking on the snowy day outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
these came out perfect. delicious. soft and I even added a little more ginger. I used butter instead of margarine because I don't use margarine. these made it to my fave cookie top 3 list for sure! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I love this recipe, made it for a goodies day at work and my coworkers still want me to bring in more. Flying colors with the family as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anitakennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Best ginger cookies I've ever had. My husband (who doesn't really love ginger cookies generally) said this was the best cookie on our Christmas plate this year and that we should "definitely save this one!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Excellently! I always get great reviews when I make these cookies. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
LOWER CALORIE, LOWER FAT VERSION: I modified this recipe to make it lower fat & lower calorie. Instead of 3/4 cup margarine, I used 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I used 1 cup Truvia in place of 1 cup sugar. I also added an extra egg white to the recipe on top of the one whole egg (thinking it might make it more cake-like). The batter ended up pretty sticky/wet, so I added another 1/4 flour, and I had to spoon the batter onto the cookie sheet. The cookies puffed up nicely and did not flatten out too much. They came out soft and moist, and the applesauce added a nice hint of apples/fall flavor. They came out very sweet, so I might cut back on the applesauce a little next time. Also, with less oil, they left a very thin film under the cookies when I peeled them off, so you may want to lightly grease the sheet, but I was OK with the very thin film of cookie it left behind. I am not a cook, and this was a first attempt in many years at "baked goods", but I'm pleased with the recipe, and will make them again! In an effort to get away from processed foods, I'm thrilled that these were easy, quick, and healthier than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Simple and delicious... Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oma Jeannette
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Just made my own batch and they smell wonderful, and look and taste even better!! Love this recipe!! And hopefully, so will my grandson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States