Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Wow....I see why there are 3757 reviews on this recipe. These are so good. I did need to add an extra tablespoon of water and rolled them in sugar in the raw instead of white sugar. This will be one of my new favorite recipes. I will be making them again and sharing them for Christmas. Thank you for sharing your recipe AMY1028.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Great easy ginger cookie recipe. I've been on the hunt for a "large, soft" ginger cookie recipe since having to pay my left arm for one at the coffee shop. As called for in the recipe, I used margarine instead of better (which I NEVER do) because I really wanted a chewy cookie (as opposed to a flattened version by using butter). Cookie held their shape beautifully - didn't grow nor shrink - and I wouldn't have known it was margarine if I hadn't used it myself. If you want a 4" cookie, don't be stingy on the dough when you roll and press it - it's not going to get any bigger or thicker than the raw cookie. Certainly a good recipe to send the smells wafting through the house. I personally like more spices so will try again with more molasses and spice and of course, make them a lot larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Truly delicious. I like to make them with butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justadozenofus
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This recipe was amazing! Gotta try it when you get a chance. Roll it in powder sugar; makes it perfect! My mom wants me to make them every night. My mom said there the best cookies she's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
These were easy and great. Rated a "top cookie" by the person I gifted them to. My husband usually turns his nose up at anything other than chocolate chip, but he wanted to eat these all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Made these today with a group of ladies. I was surprised at how crunchy the outside of the cookie is but the inside is perfectly chewy. Huge hit with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Flail92
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made this today for the first time and they turned out perfect and soft and delicious! I tweaked it (of course) - by adding 2 tsp of cornstarch, used 1 tsp of fresh grated ginger (added to the wet mix) and 1 tsp ground dry ginger (in the dry mix), used allspice instead of cloves, 1/2 c. Earth balance and 1/4 c. of sunflower oil, and used 90 ml of brown sugar and 90 ml of white sugar (total of 3/4 cup of sugar - not as potent as a full cup!), I used 1 tbsp. of orange juice as suggested in the comments and used egg replacer since I can't eat eggs. This turned out amazing! I will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Really delicious gingerbread cookies. Paired these with "Gingerbread Cookie Frosting" from this site to decorate. For the first batch, I left out the last step (to roll in sugar before baking) since I planned to use a sweet icing after, but for the second batch, I rolled as directed and they came out great, with or without icing. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING. I've made it a dozen times it's my no fail, go-to cookie recipe. I like to add a few tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder and I use butter instead of margarine. So good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States