Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I substituted to make this recipe vegan. I used coconut oil instead of margarine and EnerG egg replacer. I also substituted honey for the white sugar (except the sugar in which you roll the cookie). I had to add 1/2 cup flour to compensate for extra liquid. They were soft and gingery but not quite sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This cookies are my favorite moist so good, I added 1 tablespoon real ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
My favorite cookie! My grandkids love them too. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I just made these cookies and can't stop eating them! These are seriously delicious cookies, and like other cooks, I found the dough a little too soft to form balls, so I added an additional 1/4 cup of flour and they turned out soft and amazing. Next time I am going to add orange juice in place of water and 1/4 tsp. cardamom and make a double batch to see how well they freeze. I highly recommend this recipe exactly as it is if you have time to chill the dough before rolling them into balls - otherwise, just add a little extra flour and you are good to go! I made them for my husband's lunchbox treat, but at this point, I'm not sure they will make it that far! Thank you for this yummy contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Charlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Good flavor. I added more of the spices and added allspice. I agree with other reviews that the molasses is a very strong flavor. Next time I will use 1/2 molasses and 1/2 corn syrup. I scooped mine with a small ice cream scoop, sprinkled with sugar and flattened with the bottom of a glass. They turned out very flat with a crispy edge and a chewey center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Reed-Shoemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
DANGEROUSLY good. I used raw sugar for the "topping" to give them some extra crunch, and following another reviewer's suggestion to sub in some liqueur for the water (I used bourbon - YUM). There must have been bandits that broke into my kitchen and stole some of my cookies, because there is just no way that two people have eaten THAT many cookies in 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Hey...these cookies are scrumptious!! I made them exactly as written using blackstrap molasses since that's what I had on hand. They're soft, gingery and addictive. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
These cookies were very soft and chewy. They also came out bigger than I expected. But overall the ginger flavor was so yummy. I made these during the Christmas holiday as gifts and everyone loved them. I am definitely making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Klaiber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Excellent gingery taste! A house favourite! The video is really helpful, especially seeing how the baker uses a glass to press down the cookie dough on the sheets! Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
SO GOOD! I ate like 3+ per day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,903) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States