Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My new favorite cookie recipe!!!!! I could not keep my hands off of them. Made them for Christmas instead of gingerbread men and I'm glad I did. I added 1/2 cup of light brown sugar to the dough and they came out perfect! Will make again and again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These were great and they were actually soft! Instead of 3/4 cup margarine, I did 2 sticks of butter the first time. They flattened out a little bit more that way, which was good because then they got the cracks on the top. I just remade it now with 3/4 cup butter and they aren't quite as flat. I notice the cooking time they suggest is way off though, I'm on 12 minutes now and they still are no where near ready yet. I have a new oven too, so it's not my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made these cookies for my equestrian friends. Humans and horses alike LOVED them!They remained soft and with the use of fresh ginger the taste was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My mother and I just baked these. We made 8 dozen, and there is about ten left. haha. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
five stars! Next time I will use brown sugar. Has anyone tried adding choc chips to this? Molasses and Choc are a favorite combo and am just wondering how the presence of the chips would affect the soft puffiness of the cookie?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe. Mine didn't "fluff" as much as I thoughbut they were still delicious. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Love these, and always double the batch - they won't go to waste! Couple tips: 1) Instead of "shaping dough into walnut sized balls," use a small ice cream scooper to scoop balls directly into the bowl of sugar - much cleaner that way, and all the cookies turn out the same size. Yummy!! 2) I never use the prescribed 2 T of sugar for rolling the balls....I just put about 1/2-1 cup of sugar in a bowl and roll away...then toss the remaining sugar. Having a little more makes that part go a little faster/easier. 3) Finally, if your molasses is running low (I used up the last of ours), put the bottle in the microwave for 10-20 seconds and the remaining amount stuck to the bottom will pour our more easily. Also...use the tip by other reviewer - spray your measuring cup with cooking spray before measuring the molasses into your cookie dough mix...makes it MUCH easier to get it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I love these. They've become my "signature" cookie at all the Christmas events. I follow the recipe exactly, except for flattening - I just leave them in a ball and they bake to a perfect puffy shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
If you want the darker brown cracked top look, you need to substitute dark brown sugar for the white in the cookie dough. Still roll in white sugar. I always use the small cookie scoop and bake on parchment. 9 minutes is perfect in my oven. p.s. I reduce the flour by 1/4 cup and omit the water altogether. I also add 1/2 cup small pieces candied ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is the best ginger cookie recipe. I used orange juice instead of water like some others and it made this cookie great. It was a big hit and my teenage daughter(who doesn't like anything mind you)is asking for more and to put this on my normal cookie rotation! Delish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Kover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States