Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I'm not even a big fan of ginger-flavored food but this one is AWESOME! I did use butter instead because I didn't have margarine at hand. The cookies came out after exact 10 mins with slightly brown crispy edges and soft inside - perfect! BTW I didn't chill the batter or let it sit, just went right ahead to roll the balls. It worked just fine, nothing gooey or messy like some of the reviews mentioned about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I've been making these since I found the recipe in 2006ish-they are my favorite. No need to refrigerate dough before you bake- first, don't over incorporate the dry ingredients, just stir in with spatula until just incorporated. Then, use two spoons and scrape off the dough into the sugar and gently roll once, or until covered. Then on the sheet just flatten slightly. Yes the dough is soft, but won't be sticky if you just stir by hand. My cookies come out uniform and gorgeous every time! The taste is better the day after, but I honestly can barely get them to last 24 hours in the house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I have made a lot of Ginger cookies, and these were by far the best I have ever made. Thank you for this recipe. I wouldn't change a thing about it. I got 3 1/2 dozen out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
The best recipe for Ginger Molasses cookies I have ever tried. I made the recipe as written and totally loved it. However, I am a ginger nut so I add approximately 1 1/2 tsp of freshly grated ginger to the overall recipe the second time I made it. Love it, will try boosting the flavor with the orange juice as one other member suggested. I now have 3 go-to cookie recipes and this is number 1, bumped off my PB Chocolate Chip Cookies. Go figure ginger is better than chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Very tasty but after 10 min baking they are super soft but the inside seems raw? I tried going 12 min and then they are cooked through but the texture isn't as soft. Maybe 11 min is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
i will never buy store made ginger cookies again! This recipe makes delicious soft & chewy cookies and it was so easy. Nice recipe if you're looking for something different to snack on & i already had all the ingredients on hand. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Loved it : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Loved this recipe & they are wonderfully soft (so long as you don't over bake them). I did a slight bit of alteration: don't care much for white sugar so I used brown & skipped the sugar coating on the outside. Tip to keep the dough from getting all over your hands, use 2 large spoons & pass back and forth a 1/2 of spoonful, then when you drop them, roll the spoon around on the top & it flattens & shapes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
These cookies are wonderful! In my experience, it's better to slightly overcook these cookies than to slightly undercook them. (My only change was that I always omit the cloves because of my taste preference.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States