Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These were pretty good! I've made them 3 times, every time with butter: 1) I made as directed and they were sticky and way too sweet! I had rolled them in sugar. I had chilled them as other people had suggested and didn't really think it had an effect. They were hard as rocks after baking so I had them dipped in my tea. They had excellent flavour though, so I knew I was going to make them again with some alterations. 2) I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup of sugar and omitted the water. Tasted delicious and were softer! But didn't really flatten out or crinkle nicely around the edges. I didn't chill them this time. Also had the oven at 375 3) I kept the sugar at 3/4 cups, still left out the water, but added slightly more butter, Like 7/8ths of a cup. Oven at 375. I rolled them about 1.5 inch balls and did not flatten. Still didn't chill and this time they are perfect! Is definitely a keeper now that I have perfected the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I LOVE these cookies! I make them every fall and make them into ice cream sandwiches with homemade Pumpkin ice cream. They're divine! I do add a bit of finely chopped candied ginger to mine, and next time I'll try to orange juice suggested by other reviewers. After this, you never need another Ginger Cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I may need to make a second batch, as I don't know if there'll be enough left in two days' time. I will reduce the sugar a bit next time I make them, but they're excellent. I used an inch wide cookie dough scoop to drop the dough directly in the sugar, didn't flatten them, as I didn't read that far ahead in the recipe, and they spread out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Very good cookie! In fact, I had to give them away so I wouldn't eat them all. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bumpy
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
There is a recipe for "big soft ginger cookies" at http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/big-soft-ginger-cookies. I've used that recipe many times with success and it's one of my husband's favorite cookies. I mistook this recipe for that recipe--HUGE MISTAKE. These cookies were flat, spread too much, and weren't fully cooked even after I baked them for 15 minutes. Do yourself a favor--skip this recipe and try the one at tasteofhome.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Quick and easy to make. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I saw they needed flattening after my first tray. FYI flatten slightly after placing in cookie sheet. Other than that I had no trouble making them and no messy gooey batter it was ready to roll just after mixing so my thoughts as to why others may have had a gooey mess is that perhaps their butter was warmer than room temperature. Great recipe I will make them again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
We substituted coconut oil for the butter and brown sugar for the white sugar. Upped the ginger to three teaspoons. Awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I added a 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and threw in about 3/4 cup crystallized ginger nibs that I had sitting around. I didn't even have to refrigerate the dough before I rolled out the balls, as others reviewers mentioned. My issue with this cookie is the margarine. There was an off-putting flavor from the margarine that reminded me why I only make my cookies with butter. With a different type of fat, I'd like these a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Fantastic as everyone has said. I made these adjustments for HIGH ALTITUDE (we live at 7,000ft): added 3 TBSP of flour and lowered the oven temp to 325. They came out soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States