Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These cookies are awesome. I really like ginger, so I increased the ground ginger to 3 tsp (1 tbsp) and added a 1/4 cup of finely minced, candied ginger. Fortunately for me, my wife doesn't really like ginger, so I get the whole batch to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by txntv
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I followed the instructions exactly -- from stirring in the dry stuff by hand (it says mixing earlier ... so I suspected the recipe is serious when it says stir) to flattening them slightly. Yet they turned out flat without a cracked appearance. Not pretty ... and we eat with our eyes first. They taste gingery as I expected. Easy peasy although my hand got tired of stirring. Sounds like I need to try putting these in the freezer although I had no trouble rolling them. Or flattening them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
These are fabulous!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was such an amazing recipe ! Ugh delicious sweet,spicy and with a cup of milk just right!.... first try and they came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I'm not even a big fan of ginger-flavored food but this one is AWESOME! I did use butter instead because I didn't have margarine at hand. The cookies came out after exact 10 mins with slightly brown crispy edges and soft inside - perfect! BTW I didn't chill the batter or let it sit, just went right ahead to roll the balls. It worked just fine, nothing gooey or messy like some of the reviews mentioned about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I've been making these since I found the recipe in 2006ish-they are my favorite. No need to refrigerate dough before you bake- first, don't over incorporate the dry ingredients, just stir in with spatula until just incorporated. Then, use two spoons and scrape off the dough into the sugar and gently roll once, or until covered. Then on the sheet just flatten slightly. Yes the dough is soft, but won't be sticky if you just stir by hand. My cookies come out uniform and gorgeous every time! The taste is better the day after, but I honestly can barely get them to last 24 hours in the house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I have made a lot of Ginger cookies, and these were by far the best I have ever made. Thank you for this recipe. I wouldn't change a thing about it. I got 3 1/2 dozen out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
The best recipe for Ginger Molasses cookies I have ever tried. I made the recipe as written and totally loved it. However, I am a ginger nut so I add approximately 1 1/2 tsp of freshly grated ginger to the overall recipe the second time I made it. Love it, will try boosting the flavor with the orange juice as one other member suggested. I now have 3 go-to cookie recipes and this is number 1, bumped off my PB Chocolate Chip Cookies. Go figure ginger is better than chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Very tasty but after 10 min baking they are super soft but the inside seems raw? I tried going 12 min and then they are cooked through but the texture isn't as soft. Maybe 11 min is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
i will never buy store made ginger cookies again! This recipe makes delicious soft & chewy cookies and it was so easy. Nice recipe if you're looking for something different to snack on & i already had all the ingredients on hand. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 3,868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States