Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Cooking Fairy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Fabulous! Big and soft. They stay soft through several days. I followed the recipe exactly. Love this recipe. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Yum! These were some of the best ginger cookies I've ever had! I used fresh ginger (about 2 tblspoons) just to see if it made a difference--I think the cookies turned out more moist that way. I also used only one 1/2 stick of butter because that's a lot of butter. But these were gone straight out of the oven. I also did what another reviewer suggested and added a tiny bit of orange juice concentrate. I might cut back on the molasses next time, it's a little overpowering. But these are very, very good. Cooking time ended up being 11 minutes + five minutes sitting on a hot pan for us and our oven + high altitude. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pushpa
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Its tasty . I use fresh ginger instead of powder and I add some mix spice powder . WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I tried this recipe before giving up gluten and loved it. Here is what I did for a gluten free version and I think it tastes as good as the original: 2.5 cups of gf ap flour (I used Analise Roberts mix of brown rice flour, potato starch and tapioca flour) 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum And refrigerated the dough over night. I also used earth balance in place of margarine. Also, There was also no need to flatten them before baking. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Love this recipe. Doubled the amount of each spice and they only got better! First time out made "walnut sized balls" - second, third and fourth times out made the cookies about half that size - 9 minutes in the oven and voila- the most perfect cookie. Let cool on the cookie sheet to achieve an nice crunchy outside and a soft gooey inside. One other tip that others have mentioned, definitely chill the dough - they roll much easier - thirty minutes or more seems to do the trick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
These cookies are really tasty. I did a little change instead of cloves I put nutmeg. Great recipe, we'll make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Fixed these last Christmas for members visiting my work place and they were a hit - soft and delicious - not hard and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Great texture (light and fluffy) but bland. This is what I did differently from the recipe: I used 1 stick of butter plus 4 TBSP margarine I used 5 TBSP very dark homemade brown sugar (instead of molasses) I used 1 TBSP orange juice (instead of water) Perfect baking time for me was: 9 minutes The result was a great non-sticky cookie dough that was easy to roll into balls without refrigeration. The first six cookies were very light in color (not a gingerbread look at all) and rose well as they baked. The cookies were uniform, soft, and fluffy when they were done baking. However, the cookies tasted like bland sugar cookies with just a hint of spice at the end. So, working with the remaining dough, I sprinkled an additional 2 tsp of ginger powder, 1 tsp of cinnamon and drizzled about 1/2 TBSP of molasses on top. I mixed the dough with my hands (too lazy to drag out the mixer again). I baked the cookies for 9 minutes. This time, the cookies turned out darker with more spice. The texture is still slightly soft but firmer. The cookies were still lacking that full-on gingerbread taste. I will make this recipe again but I will let the dough rest in the fridge for a day, wrapped in plastic wrap, to let the spices meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe to the "T" the first time and they were great. Second time I used OJ instead of water but over baked them a little. Third time I made them and did the following changes: used OJ instead of water, butter instead of margarine, and used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Third time was the ultimate winner. These were so delicious and I'm not even a big fan of ginger! I took it to work and someone told me the cookies made her day. I would definitely makes these again and again! I also put the dough in the fridge for about 30 minutes prior to shaping them. The negative reviews are interesting. I'm not an expert cook but this recipe contains a lot of wet ingredients (e.g. water and molasses) so expect the dough to be a little more runny than usual. Don't expect it to look thick and crackled like the picture (the person obviously modified the recipe). If you want it to look exactly like the picture then you'll have to tweak the recipe. I think the main culprit of the runny-ness and greasiness is margarine. Margarine is softer and contains more oil than butter. If you're still having trouble with your cookies check this site out: https://www.craftybaking.com/learn/baked-goods/cookies/problems-and-solutions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,760) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States