Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I tried these for the first time this year after seeing them in allrecipes magazine. I was looking for some new cookie recipes to make with ingredients I had on hand. These cookies may look average, but they taste extraordinary! I didn't have cloves, so I used allspice and used butter not margarine (as suggested in the magazine). I will definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
These were perfectly round and soft/chewy. I didn't get the crackles, just a hint, but really liked the texture. I used the last of the dough to make a ginger snowman and when they started to spread I placed the face so I would know where the pieces would end up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used O.J. as suggested by others and the cookies turned out great. I accidently overbaked the first batch which resulted in hard cookies, but some people actually liked them! Could've used them for a pie crust too. Also rolled the cookies in Raw sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
BEST COOKIES ON EARTH. man oh man, everybody needs to make these. I added a bit more ginger to get that extra bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
By far the best ginger cookies I have ever made. They turn out to be very soft in the center. They were a huge hit with all my family and friends. they will definitely make it into my regular christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Even better than I expected. So soft. Best cookies I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
these are very good, they didn't last long, but were soft. I didn't add the ground cloves , because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the first time I have ever made Gingerbread cookies and this recipe was awesome. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Awesome cookies! Today was my first day making them. I read through many reviews first and took note of tips. Instead of water I used orange juice. I Sprayed the measuring cup with oil so the molasses would easily pour. And I cooled the dough in the freezer for a half hour. It was very easy to work with. I kept all of the ingredients and measurements the same other than the water. And I did exactly what the directions said. And I sifted the flour etc. I found that 8 -10 minutes wasn't enough baking time. Maybe it's my oven. 12 minutes is just right for my oven. They turned out very yummy. They have a Slight crisp on the outside and are chewy on the inside. And the flavor is just right. I made 30 cookies out of this recipe. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe makes a soft, flavorful, delicious cooky. You'll have no problem with sticky fingers if you use chilled dough. Lightly flour the bottom of a glass before you flatten the cookies. For the liquid I used the orange liquor triple sec. I glazed the cookies as recommended by reviewer Michael J. Wild using triple sec for the liquid. The glaze didn't set 'til the next day so packing the cookies for a potluck was a bit of a problem. The next day they were perfect. Perhaps make and glaze them a day ahead if you're packing them for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States