Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Fixed these last Christmas for members visiting my work place and they were a hit - soft and delicious - not hard and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Great texture (light and fluffy) but bland. This is what I did differently from the recipe: I used 1 stick of butter plus 4 TBSP margarine I used 5 TBSP very dark homemade brown sugar (instead of molasses) I used 1 TBSP orange juice (instead of water) Perfect baking time for me was: 9 minutes The result was a great non-sticky cookie dough that was easy to roll into balls without refrigeration. The first six cookies were very light in color (not a gingerbread look at all) and rose well as they baked. The cookies were uniform, soft, and fluffy when they were done baking. However, the cookies tasted like bland sugar cookies with just a hint of spice at the end. So, working with the remaining dough, I sprinkled an additional 2 tsp of ginger powder, 1 tsp of cinnamon and drizzled about 1/2 TBSP of molasses on top. I mixed the dough with my hands (too lazy to drag out the mixer again). I baked the cookies for 9 minutes. This time, the cookies turned out darker with more spice. The texture is still slightly soft but firmer. The cookies were still lacking that full-on gingerbread taste. I will make this recipe again but I will let the dough rest in the fridge for a day, wrapped in plastic wrap, to let the spices meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
These were so delicious and I'm not even a big fan of ginger! I took it to work and someone told me the cookies made her day. I would definitely makes these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is my go to cookie recipe. The only thing I did different was grate in 1/2 tsp. fresh Ginger as well as the dry ginger. Makes a great difference. Even my grandchildren who love M & M cookies will request these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Platteville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
the first time i made this, the cookies turned out beautifully. i made some slight changes. i added double the required cinnamon. im vegan so i left out the egg as well as the salt. i switched the white sugar for cane sugar. i didn't have any cloves so they didnt get added either. regardless, i loved the result. i made this recipe again tonight. i am out of margarine so i substituted with vegetable shortening. if i ever use shortening again for this recipe it will be at least 1/4 cup less the flour, the mix was rather dry and i had to crush it together in my hands to make it stick and this was after i added an extra tbsp of water. im certain it was because the lack of margarine in it. anyway, this time i did have cloves. i will never use cloves again as they made the cookies taste like potpourri. other than that, GREAT recipe. i will just make sure to have plenty of margarine on hand for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These cookies turned out really good. i added white chocolate chips to add a little bit of sweetness. They were soft and chewy just what i was looking for with great flavor. Definitely give these cookies a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These were okay - not the ginger flavor I was hoping for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very easy and very good... used a cookie scoop to mold cookies before rolling into sugar. If you want to dress them up just do a light drizzle of melted white chocolate.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
They were good but I followed the recipe and they weren't the five star cookies I was expecting. Good cookies but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I have looked for years for a great ginger cookie recipe and now I have finally found it. They are nice and soft and stay that way in a sealed container. Follow the cooking times even though the cookies don't look like they are done. It was my husband who stopped me from adding time to the baking, and I'm sure glad he did. ENJOY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States