Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Tried these tonight- was going to make a meatloaf from the recipe as I didn't have any buns. The more I read the reviews, I realized that these would be at their peak from grilling. So, we had the burgers minus the buns and cheese. We got to taste the true flavor. Very, very tasty. I might use a teeny bit less chipotles in adobo next time. My word on that ingredient is this-buy a small can, put the remainder in an airtight container and keep it in the frig. I have been using the same container for about 6 months. Believe me, it keeps its flavor and kick! And, there's not really any great substitute when a recipe calls for it. One question for the others- what did they use as "grill seasoning?" I don't have any on hand, as we do most of our own combinations to make rubs, etc. I just used some paprika, chili powder and smoked salt. We really loved these. This recipe elevates burgers to "company" status. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLHSCHNEIDER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chinhae, Kyongsang-Namdo, South Korea
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These are wonderful tasting burgers! This is the 3rd time that I've used this recipe. The 2nd time I used ground turkey breast instead of beef. It was drier but still very good flavor. I've also combined all of the ingredients (except the beef) in a bowl and made a paste like out of it and rubbed it on some fish that I was going to saute. It too was pretty darned good! The smokiness and heat of the chipotles combined with the liquid smoke is quite a tasty combo. I really like your recipe. Thanks! I would have never thought of this on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Yummy! Very good grilled burger. I used garlic powder instead of the minced garlic and did half and half gound beef and ground turkey. I also used pepper jack cheese. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These were great...I did use a little less liquid smoke and chipole cheddar cheese...the best BBQ'd burgers I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mreece2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Very tasty! I was a little nervous that the burgers would be too spicy with the the chipotle pepper and the sauce, but it was actually the perfect kick. We only grilled two then froze the rest of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E. Bice
Home Town: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
We LOVE this recipe and have even used it with ground turkey. I didn't follow the recipe exactly as I didn't have chipotle sauce or peppers. And, after the first time, I also decreased the liquid smoke to 1 tsp because it seemed to be a little strong. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These burgers were delicious! It really jazzed up the normal boring burger recipe. I added a little bit more of the peppers because we like it spicy. I didn't use onions since my family won't eat them, and I tried substituting onion powder instead. Since I love onions, I felt that the onion flavor still wasn't enough. If I were making it for company, I'd definitely use the grated onion next time as this would make them perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Connor Stivers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsville, New York, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was great. It was nice to have a very tasty burger for a change. My boyfriend raved about these to all his friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Robinsville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Great flavor and very juicy. This recipe is now at the top of my list for burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These were excellent! I made it per the recipe with the exception of only using half a chipotle pepper. I am used to very hot foods and this to me was only slightly warm. My wife felt that it was very hot and suggested only a 1/4th of the chipotle pepper for next time. So anyone making this, make it to your heat level. The flavor of the chipotle is outstanding in it and I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceana, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States