Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These were excellent! I made it per the recipe with the exception of only using half a chipotle pepper. I am used to very hot foods and this to me was only slightly warm. My wife felt that it was very hot and suggested only a 1/4th of the chipotle pepper for next time. So anyone making this, make it to your heat level. The flavor of the chipotle is outstanding in it and I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceana, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was the first time I used chipotle chiles in adobo sauce and man, those chiles were spicy. Next time, I would probably leave them out of this recipe as our mouths were on fire. I used organic ground beef so the burgers were moist and tender. Loved the smokiness of this burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Very tasty! I was a little nervous that the burgers would be too spicy with the the chipotle pepper and the sauce, but it was actually the perfect kick. We only grilled two then froze the rest of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E. Bice
Home Town: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Just made these today. Scaled the recipe for 2 burgers. They were tasty and had a nice after bite from the chipotle. My husband said he liked it, but thought the texture was more like a meatloaf. Probably because of the liquids added that made the burger a bit loose. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Tried these tonight- was going to make a meatloaf from the recipe as I didn't have any buns. The more I read the reviews, I realized that these would be at their peak from grilling. So, we had the burgers minus the buns and cheese. We got to taste the true flavor. Very, very tasty. I might use a teeny bit less chipotles in adobo next time. My word on that ingredient is this-buy a small can, put the remainder in an airtight container and keep it in the frig. I have been using the same container for about 6 months. Believe me, it keeps its flavor and kick! And, there's not really any great substitute when a recipe calls for it. One question for the others- what did they use as "grill seasoning?" I don't have any on hand, as we do most of our own combinations to make rubs, etc. I just used some paprika, chili powder and smoked salt. We really loved these. This recipe elevates burgers to "company" status. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLHSCHNEIDER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chinhae, Kyongsang-Namdo, South Korea
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Just a simple request for when people make suggestions for substitutions--please include amounts! I made these burgers tonight, and like one of the other reviewers, I had no chipotle peppers, but I did have the spice available. Unfortunately, I had no idea how much to substitute for the chipotle pepper, and ended up adding waaaaayyy too much spice to my burgers. They were blazing hot! I used 1 teaspoon of spice to 1 1/4 pound of ground sirloin (for four servings). So if anyone suggests a substitution, please also suggest a quantity to use. I know I would really appreciate the help, and maybe others would, too. I enjoyed the burgers, and I will give them another shot with either real chipotles or lower the amount of spice I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I used all the seasoning as noted except for the chilies as we are wimps in that department. I topped the burgers with Gouda cheese the last few minutes on the grill. I really liked the flavors of this burger and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZUEBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Great flavor and very juicy. This recipe is now at the top of my list for burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
We LOVE this recipe and have even used it with ground turkey. I didn't follow the recipe exactly as I didn't have chipotle sauce or peppers. And, after the first time, I also decreased the liquid smoke to 1 tsp because it seemed to be a little strong. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
We really enjoyed these burgers. I used onion powder since I don't care for onion and McCormick hamburger seasoning for the grill seasoning, but it was too salty so next time I will make my own or use something else. I cut this in half for just the 3 of us. The canned chipotle peppers though barely had any adobo sauce so I scraped up what I could and used it. I used La Costena brand. I cooked this in a skillet/stovetop instead of grilling this time. Thanks Janine, these were good and we will be having these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States