Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
While I agree this is a good recipe, I do not think it a "great" recipe and the reason is mainly because I am not fond of Adobo flavoring. I have made several marinades using Adobo sauce and chipotle peppers and they have yet to turn out pleasing. I will say that I love spicy things and I love smokey, grilled food so this recipe is right up my alley. The bottom line, try it once and see how you like it, as they say: your mileage may vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
These were OK. Pretty good, but not my standard "go to" burger (which I was hoping to find...). I scaled the recipe to yield 4 burgers (2 each for my bf and I). The burgers had some flavor, but nothing "over the top". Served on onion rolls with hicory smoked bacon, cheddar cheese and Bar-b-q sauce. Had I not served wtih the extras, I wouldn't have liked these very much. I might make these again, but not any time soon and probably not on a regular basis. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I loved these, subtle flavor. My husband prefers the taste of just meat, but he did eat 3 :-) I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Perfect recipe for hamburgers. My mouth waters just thinking about them. I haven't tried the liquid smoke, we always grill & there's plenty of smokey flavor that comes from that. I keep chipotle hot sauce in a bottle on hand for recipes, because so many of the peppers in the can go to waste if you need just one. I think the chipotle hot sauce in a bottle is fine to give the burgers that flavor, but if you do want more heat, use the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These burgers were delicious! It really jazzed up the normal boring burger recipe. I added a little bit more of the peppers because we like it spicy. I didn't use onions since my family won't eat them, and I tried substituting onion powder instead. Since I love onions, I felt that the onion flavor still wasn't enough. If I were making it for company, I'd definitely use the grated onion next time as this would make them perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsville, New York, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These were excellent! I made it per the recipe with the exception of only using half a chipotle pepper. I am used to very hot foods and this to me was only slightly warm. My wife felt that it was very hot and suggested only a 1/4th of the chipotle pepper for next time. So anyone making this, make it to your heat level. The flavor of the chipotle is outstanding in it and I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceana, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was the first time I used chipotle chiles in adobo sauce and man, those chiles were spicy. Next time, I would probably leave them out of this recipe as our mouths were on fire. I used organic ground beef so the burgers were moist and tender. Loved the smokiness of this burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Very tasty! I was a little nervous that the burgers would be too spicy with the the chipotle pepper and the sauce, but it was actually the perfect kick. We only grilled two then froze the rest of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E. Bice
Home Town: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Just made these today. Scaled the recipe for 2 burgers. They were tasty and had a nice after bite from the chipotle. My husband said he liked it, but thought the texture was more like a meatloaf. Probably because of the liquids added that made the burger a bit loose. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Tried these tonight- was going to make a meatloaf from the recipe as I didn't have any buns. The more I read the reviews, I realized that these would be at their peak from grilling. So, we had the burgers minus the buns and cheese. We got to taste the true flavor. Very, very tasty. I might use a teeny bit less chipotles in adobo next time. My word on that ingredient is this-buy a small can, put the remainder in an airtight container and keep it in the frig. I have been using the same container for about 6 months. Believe me, it keeps its flavor and kick! And, there's not really any great substitute when a recipe calls for it. One question for the others- what did they use as "grill seasoning?" I don't have any on hand, as we do most of our own combinations to make rubs, etc. I just used some paprika, chili powder and smoked salt. We really loved these. This recipe elevates burgers to "company" status. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLHSCHNEIDER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chinhae, Kyongsang-Namdo, South Korea
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States