Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
These were awesome burgers! Can't wait to taste them with turkey... Don't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These were really good. The only issue I had was there was really no adobo sauce in the can with the pepper. They were so tightly packed in there. I just added a bit more of the peppers to compensate. It worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
very tastey burger indeed! I loved them and have some in the freezer for another time. They were super juicy and moist and I really liked the flavour so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Excellent flavor, the best plain burger I have ever had. I like fully dressed burgers with mustard, onions, chili, cheese, jalapeños, but this burger was great with only some cheese on top. The ingredients caramelized especially tasty on my charcoal grill. I grilled for about 18 minutes total instead of the normal 8-10 minutes for normal burgers due to the high moisture content. I also made this recipe as a meatloaf by adding one egg and 1/2 a cup of bread crumbs. I baked at 350F for an hour. The meatloaf version is less spicy tasting, but also very good. I am going to try the meatloaf version again but with a tomato based sauce on top to add that extra meatloaf flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
These were the best burgers I've ever made! Thanks to the help in the recipe exchange, I topped them with caramelized onions, mayo and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
These burgers were excellent! I followed the recipe exactly and we loved them. They are a perfect combination of smokey and spicy. I can't say enough good things about them. We will be making them again very soon. Thanks, Janine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
While I agree this is a good recipe, I do not think it a "great" recipe and the reason is mainly because I am not fond of Adobo flavoring. I have made several marinades using Adobo sauce and chipotle peppers and they have yet to turn out pleasing. I will say that I love spicy things and I love smokey, grilled food so this recipe is right up my alley. The bottom line, try it once and see how you like it, as they say: your mileage may vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
These were OK. Pretty good, but not my standard "go to" burger (which I was hoping to find...). I scaled the recipe to yield 4 burgers (2 each for my bf and I). The burgers had some flavor, but nothing "over the top". Served on onion rolls with hicory smoked bacon, cheddar cheese and Bar-b-q sauce. Had I not served wtih the extras, I wouldn't have liked these very much. I might make these again, but not any time soon and probably not on a regular basis. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I loved these, subtle flavor. My husband prefers the taste of just meat, but he did eat 3 :-) I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Perfect recipe for hamburgers. My mouth waters just thinking about them. I haven't tried the liquid smoke, we always grill & there's plenty of smokey flavor that comes from that. I keep chipotle hot sauce in a bottle on hand for recipes, because so many of the peppers in the can go to waste if you need just one. I think the chipotle hot sauce in a bottle is fine to give the burgers that flavor, but if you do want more heat, use the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States