Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Wow - great flavor. I was a little worried about the adobe & chipolte chile but it really added a nice flavor - not super spicey. I wrapped the burger in bacon - an idea from another recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My husband and guests raved about these. I thought they were decent. I like it better when I make up my own concoction. But guess I have to give it a 5 because everyone else loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Fabulous! Love the smokey, spicy flavour. I prefer this to chris's bay area burger. The flavour is great, and the recipe is straightforward. I did not quite know what "grill seasoning" was so I used Montreal Steak spice. I also used a whole small onion but sauteed it first to cut down on the sharpness of the onion. I used the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (can be bought at wal-mart, cheap) and took the whole can and threw it in the food processor. I used the mixture in the recipe (this mixture keeps for months in the fridge, and tastes awesome) Otherwise followed the recipe exactly, this will be my new go-to burger for this grilling season! Got raving reviews and many requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nik and Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Excellent recipe. Made really tasty and juicy burgers. I too didn't have the chipotle in adobo at home so subbed ground chipotle (1 teaspoon). This gave it a subtle kick without being too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
These Burgers were just okay. I followed the recipe exactly and it had this sweet flavor that I didnt really like for a burger. It tasted more like meatloaf then a burger. Sorry, but I probably wont be making this again. Thanks for posting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Fantastic recipe. Served with Cheese, Bacon and BBQ sauce,, these are the best homemade burgers I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juck

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I also lessened the amount of liquid smoke. I let the mixture sit overnight to meld the flavors before forming them into patties. Then I layered them with wax paper and stuck them in the freezer. I made 8 smaller patties out of 2 lbs of meat. They were a HIT!!!! My husband oohed and aahed! I also made Belle's Hamburger Buns to go with them. VERY, very good! Next time I will carmelize some onions and maybe saute some mushrooms to go on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was definately one of the best hamburgers I've ever had! I didn't have the Worcesterchire sauce so just omitted it. Next time I'll use it to see the difference but tasted amazing without it. I also used monterey jack cheese instead of cheddar and added avocado and bacon. Very filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These are the absolutely best burgers anywhere! I also didn't have the pepper or adobo sauce on hand but they are fabulous even without it...my husband is hooked on these! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These burgers are PHENOMENAL!!!! I didn't change a thing and they were outstanding. My boyfriend is picky about his burgers and he absolutely LOVED these!!! Huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubbie_Girl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States