Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Isn't it funny how people can have such a wide range of taste buds? I'm vegetarian so didn't eat these, but I made them for my meat eaters and followed the recipe exactly. Two teenagers didn't finish theirs and the others said they didn't taste like hamburgers and didn't really care for them. Hubby said they were ok. No one though they were too spicy, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
These were good burgers but were too wet. I had to add bread crumbs to them. I think I will try these again and tweak them slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Not having used liquid smoke often, I was unsure if that was too much, and my husband doesn't like SUPER spicy stuff - so I was worried about the amounts of adobo and chipotle, but these were spot on! My husband loved them as did I! Will not change a thing (unless I'd make for JUST ME - in which case I'd be ok with more garlic and chipotle...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
My burgers were so wet they fell apart. I should have added oatmeal or breadcrumbs (plain) as soon as I realized there was too much liquid. I think my meat might've been runnier than it should've been, it's not necessarily a problem with the recipe, but all the same I was flipping ruined burgers through no fault of my own so I'm going to have to dock this one for that so that I remember not to make this one again without revision. Sorry - the flavors were nice though. I used Penzey's "Mural of Flavor" for the grill seasoning since I didn't know what that was anyway and I like Mural. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very good! This is very similar to what I normally would make but this had the liquid smoke and chilis I did use 1/4 tsp of chipotle powder for 1 lb of meat. Mixed everything together and let it sit in the fridge for about a half hour to hour before forming patties. Thanks for not putting an egg into the recipe, it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Fantabulous burger! I scaled it to one serving, and kept to the recipe other than leaving out the chipotle in adobo (I didn't want to open a whole can just for my one burger). The burger was then cooked on my cast iron grill pan, love that thing. Usually I like a lot of condiments but in this case it didn't need it and in fact I thought would counterbalance the highly flavored meat (except maybe fresh lettuce/tomato would work well). I did dress with some chili sauce to make up some of the spice I lost with skipping the chipotle, and also some grainy mustard. Next time I won't bother grating the onion and just top with slices as I usually do, and I'll add more grill seasoning (love the stuff, and I use Mrs Dash salt-free so you can add more without it becoming too salty). Those very minor quibbles aside I adored this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
both my hubby and 5 yr old liked these burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I like the taste of hamburger and I just like to enhance the burger taste. This recipe totally overcame all the taste of beef. I was very disappointed and will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These burgers have great flavor and spice! I doubled the chopped chili and loved it, H thought it was a little too spicy, so next time I'll only add extra to mine. The liquid smoke is just the right amount and not over powering. Thanks Janine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Sooo delicious! Cut the recipe down to make 4 servings. I made my own grill seasoning since I didn't want to spend the 5 bucks for it. I couldn't find the canned chipotle peppers at the local grocer, so I used 1/4 cup apricot+mango chipotle sauce (it was all that I could find that would even come close?). I was afraid of using the real garlic, but went ahead anyways - couldn't taste it AND gets rid of that gross meat smell, I'm glad I did it. Topped them with mild cheddar or provolone slices, and ate them with wheat buns. We might try them "california western" style next time, you know, with onion rings and some sort of bbq sauce. Looove it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States