Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
both my hubby and 5 yr old liked these burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I like the taste of hamburger and I just like to enhance the burger taste. This recipe totally overcame all the taste of beef. I was very disappointed and will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These burgers have great flavor and spice! I doubled the chopped chili and loved it, H thought it was a little too spicy, so next time I'll only add extra to mine. The liquid smoke is just the right amount and not over powering. Thanks Janine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Sooo delicious! Cut the recipe down to make 4 servings. I made my own grill seasoning since I didn't want to spend the 5 bucks for it. I couldn't find the canned chipotle peppers at the local grocer, so I used 1/4 cup apricot+mango chipotle sauce (it was all that I could find that would even come close?). I was afraid of using the real garlic, but went ahead anyways - couldn't taste it AND gets rid of that gross meat smell, I'm glad I did it. Topped them with mild cheddar or provolone slices, and ate them with wheat buns. We might try them "california western" style next time, you know, with onion rings and some sort of bbq sauce. Looove it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Incredible seasoning combination! I don't care for the heat of the chipotle peppers or adobo sauce, so I subbed about a teaspoon of smoked paprika. I think I used a little less worcestershire sauce as well. These might be the best burgers I have made. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
AWESOME burger!!! It was smoky with light heat from the adobe chiles. I also added a slice of smoked gouda cheese to the center of the burgers before grilling and this enhanced the flavor. Served with baked beans and grilled veggies . Yum a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
The most juicy and tender homemade burger, ever! Very simple to make! Instead of fresh garlic, I used about 1 tsp. of garlic powder, because I wasn't keen on a strong garlic flavor inside the burger. I formed these into 1/3 to 1/2 lb. patties that were thick, and put them in the fridge for the next night. Grilled them up and they were delicious, but they may need more salt (according to my father and a couple of other guests) :) but I thought they were fine with whatever amount was in the grill seasoning and the rest of the ingredients.. but you can play with that according to your own tastes. The juiciness of these burgers is what won me over. I will look no further for a burger recipe. This is it. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I halved the recipe and think next time I'll put the whole 1 chipotle pepper in for the 1lb of meat for more flavor. The smokiness in the burger is great! I'll try this again for sure. **Update: I made the halved recipe again and using 1 full chipotle pepper is the way to go. I use course salt and cracked pepper on the outside of my burgers. I've also made this recipe with ground turkey breast and let the burgers sit overnight prior to cooking in a pan and they were delicious! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Delicious with NO smoke flavoring. Need to try with the adobo chipotles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These burgers are outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States