Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It was good, I used it on turkey burgers and they were very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written. I love smokey flavor but this was way too strong. If I make this recipe again I would cut the liquid smoke quantity in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very good made with ground turkey. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My hubby and I loved these. I loved the smokey flavor from the liquid smoke. I did make a few changes, I used garlic powder and onion powder instead and in place of the adobo pepper items I used some chili powder and half a can of mild green chilis. I topped mine with the cheddar cheese, bacon and tomato slices. This is keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
'Got a reluctant "thumbs up" from the 15yr old boy child & an unprovoked "You should make again/" WOW! :D Wow. :) My ground beef package was two & a third pounds. I added 1/4t onion powder (since when adding raw onion before, it doesn't oook; just heats), 1t liquid smoke, 2T worcestershire, 1T minced garlic (just didn't feel like cutting more), 2T chipolte puree, 1/2t salt, 1/4t pepper. 'Surprisingly not so spicy - like at all. Really couldn't tell I'd added the peppers. With turkey, I'd use only 1T chipolte puree per pound. I'm not even sure any amount would be good with turkey. I do know that 2T was too much though! :D Chipolte puree: Just put the contents of the can in the blender & puree. Use 1T for one pepper. Easy, huh? ;) And freeze by the tablespoonfuls separately. Then once frozen, bag 'em. For me a "3," but since ... I'll rate a "4."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Isn't it funny how people can have such a wide range of taste buds? I'm vegetarian so didn't eat these, but I made them for my meat eaters and followed the recipe exactly. Two teenagers didn't finish theirs and the others said they didn't taste like hamburgers and didn't really care for them. Hubby said they were ok. No one though they were too spicy, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
These were good burgers but were too wet. I had to add bread crumbs to them. I think I will try these again and tweak them slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Not having used liquid smoke often, I was unsure if that was too much, and my husband doesn't like SUPER spicy stuff - so I was worried about the amounts of adobo and chipotle, but these were spot on! My husband loved them as did I! Will not change a thing (unless I'd make for JUST ME - in which case I'd be ok with more garlic and chipotle...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
My burgers were so wet they fell apart. I should have added oatmeal or breadcrumbs (plain) as soon as I realized there was too much liquid. I think my meat might've been runnier than it should've been, it's not necessarily a problem with the recipe, but all the same I was flipping ruined burgers through no fault of my own so I'm going to have to dock this one for that so that I remember not to make this one again without revision. Sorry - the flavors were nice though. I used Penzey's "Mural of Flavor" for the grill seasoning since I didn't know what that was anyway and I like Mural. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very good! This is very similar to what I normally would make but this had the liquid smoke and chilis I did use 1/4 tsp of chipotle powder for 1 lb of meat. Mixed everything together and let it sit in the fridge for about a half hour to hour before forming patties. Thanks for not putting an egg into the recipe, it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States