Big M's Spicy Lime Grilled Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This recipe, and I made exactly as stated, needs some work. What I ended up with was the puckering taste of lime to end all limes (granted, I juiced those limes well, as I used to work in a southwest Mexican/Mediterranian restaurant as a prepcook). It's a good start, just needs some tweaking. I would at least double or triple the amount of ginger and garlic called for. It had 0 heat even with four jalapeno bodies (maybe he meant to use ceranos but, it's not stated), so add the seeds too. I noticed when I was making this that there is no salt or pepper and thought that was a little odd. Add a couple tsp of salt at least and maybe a few cracks of pepper. It's a good base, but really with the zest of four limes AND all their juice, they overpowered the amount of the rest of ingredients included in the recipe and all I got was a bitter lime taste. Also, could try adding some sugar as well. Help cut the extreme bitterness of the lime. That's my 2c anyway. Thanks for the recipe. (btw, i tried to remedy by sprinkling salt, cracked pepper, and cumin over skewers the second day, it helped).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Awesome....the hubby and I loved it. The prep work was fast and easy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Just Awesome!! Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This was fabulous. I don't even like really spicy food, and i thought it wasn't too spicy, just spicy enough. I made a few changes, I used one large jalepeno pepper- I was scaling the recipe down- 1/2 onion, 3 small limes(juice and zest). I also added a little honey to the mixture to sweeten it up. My husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This was awesome!!! It was too windy outside so I baked at 425 for just under 10 minutes - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Oh Muma!!! I added more chilis because i like it hot and MMmm very good!!! Would definatley recommend p.s. much easier using preshelled prawns took me ages hee hee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was amazing. I ended up dumping the marinade and the shrimp into a saute pan and cooking them on the stove instead of on the grill. My son was not happy I only made a half pound of shrimp and wants it again soon. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This is tasty and works well even without four hours of marinating. I added a lot more chillis and it was accordingly hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
My shrimp must have been in the marinade for too long, they were tough. I really was not pleased with this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I rarely eat fish and I passed on this but my partner loved it. I made it exactly as directed. I also made him Citrus Swordfish With Citrus Salsa (on this site) the other night. He said it was a real treat to have the fish and said both were of restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

These easy shrimp have lots of flavor and a great little “kick.”

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States