Big M's Spicy Lime Grilled Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
We didn't like these at all - not sure if I did something wrong or not. Could not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Tumut, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I am giving this 3 stars because the recipe overall lacked something. Also, I marinated this for only 3 hrs and the prawns were totally tough. With tweaking (suggestions in other reviews sounded good to me) this recipe could be good but as it is...it only gets 3 stars from me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Liked it but the pepper gave it a weird taste. I used a Serrano. The lime did not bother me at all. I am going to try it without the pepper and try either curry or honey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaroni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
We really like limes and shrimp but the whole family really hated the taste of these shrimp. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used only 3 limes. Still the bitter lime taste overpowered everything. I couldn't tell that there was any ginger, garlic, onions, or peppers in it. The recipe sounded so good but tasted so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Winfield, New York, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
excellent and easy to prepare. I love spicey foods, and this actually was almost too spicey...maybe marinate it only for 1 hour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Fantastic recipe! Flavours melded beautifully, marinade became a coating that stuck to the prawns when grilled. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
the marinade did not make these as flavourful as I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
We really enjoyed this. The lime and spice level were just right (I left the seeds in half of the jalapenos). I learned somewhere along the way that a citrus marinade essentially cooks seafood if left too long (and 4 hours would be considered too long), so I marinated the shrimp for about a half hour, and it absorbed the flavor perfectly without sacrificing texture. I sliced some extra onion and grilled it with the shrimp in a grill pan until it was nice and caramelized--yum! This was easy to prepare and went very well with Sweet and Sassy Vanilla Slaw, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
These were a big hit with everyone. I took the advice of adding honey and the spice level was perfect. Really yummy and a change from grilling chicken and meat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I used chili powder instead of fresh chile peppers because that's all I had. It was probably less spicy that way but we really enjoyed this way to marinade shrimps. I wouldn't let them sit more than 3 hours, though: the lime taste could be a bit too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States