Big John's BBQ Ribs and Dry Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
I have never had ribs better than these. Not even in a restaurant! They were tender, juicy and very flavorful. Believe me, they are well worth the time to make them. My family inhaled them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I love your dry rub! I use this recipe time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was awesome. I only used the rub in this recipe, and I added a little brown sugar to the mix. I used a store bought sauce with it and it turned out great. A really good mix of spicy and sweet. Best ribs I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Loved!!! This has the greatest mix of spices-PERFECT! Thanks John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Oaks, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent combination of dry rub and homemade BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Wonderful rub - I made it exactly as Big John said, and rubbed it into a slab of pork spareribs. Let them sit in the frig for 17 hours. Then baked them, covered with foil, at 300 degrees for 2-1/2 hours. Fired up the grill at medium heat; basted both sides with Jack Dabiels Hickory BBQ sauce, and grilled them for 5 minutes on each side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Yes, your right. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pauls Valley, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Big John, I shamelessly stole your dry rub and adjusted it to make my own. Thank-you, Sir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I loved this rib recipe sauce! I doubled the brown sugar because I like it sweet, but it was delicious. I was on a pretty tight timeline, so I didn't get to let the sauce take as much time as I think it needed. I think that may have led to a being a little "gritty." Even with that being the case, it made my 1st time making ribs go really well. I figure it's my fault for not letting the sauce cook for more than two and a half hours-I'm sure I could give it 5 stars if I had a little more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Turned out great. I did use some brown sugar in the rub as recommended by jalansk0 was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States