Big John's BBQ Ribs and Dry Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
This recipe SUCKED! I made it for the people at my work and when I had finished cooking, they were so nasty that I had to stop by Ralph's the next morning to buy some of their already made ribs to take into work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
I have never had ribs better than these. Not even in a restaurant! They were tender, juicy and very flavorful. Believe me, they are well worth the time to make them. My family inhaled them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was awesome. I only used the rub in this recipe, and I added a little brown sugar to the mix. I used a store bought sauce with it and it turned out great. A really good mix of spicy and sweet. Best ribs I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
Great combination of spices. It may look like it takes a long time, but marinating is so simple, and the seasonings are great. Wonderful recipe! Make it for friends and watch them finish it all off and ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
The sauce was absoulutely too salty and just tasted wrong. I even tried tweaking this and the salt was so overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
You know, this was good. It was fun making my own grilling sauce for a change. The meat came out really good but not a tangy as I would have thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Wonderful rub - I made it exactly as Big John said, and rubbed it into a slab of pork spareribs. Let them sit in the frig for 17 hours. Then baked them, covered with foil, at 300 degrees for 2-1/2 hours. Fired up the grill at medium heat; basted both sides with Jack Dabiels Hickory BBQ sauce, and grilled them for 5 minutes on each side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Big John, I shamelessly stole your dry rub and adjusted it to make my own. Thank-you, Sir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I liked it. I added more garlic and onion powder. Plus added fresh cracked black pepper all of this is to taste. I also used this on beef back rib and spayed them with apple juice I grilled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My family loved this recipe. We BBQ year round 3-4 nights a week. This was simple and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

How to Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, slow-cooked pork ribs on your barbeque grill.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States