Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This was very good, but I give it *** because as written it didn't thicken enough so I removed some of the juice and mixed 2 more tablespoons of cornstarch in it then added it back to the saucepan. My total boiling time was approximately 7 - 8 minutes. The crust is very good but a little difficult to work with because it sticks to your hands. I finally cleaned and dried my hands and rubbed them with a little butter to help with the sticking problem. You have to work to get this crust 'molded' in your pan, but I believe it is worth the time. If the recipe had worked for me as written, I would have definitely considered *****. Thank you, Pat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Although the filling tasted pretty good, I had trouble getting my glaze to thicken, it was pretty soupy, Sorry, but I won't make this one again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
I have made this recipe two times so far. The first time I made it was amazing. The filling thickened right up once it cooled, it wasn't drippy and it was so flavorful. The second time I made it I had a little trouble with it thickening. I am going to assume it was my fault and reccomend this recipe quite highly. I already sent my sister the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
After I made the syrup I tasted it and it was a little sour. I was afraid my guests wouldn't like it but I added fresh strawberries and whipped cream which kind of made a perfect blend! All said it was really good. Did have trouble getting the crust to stay up on the sides of the pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I tried this recipe with one of the suggestions to add a little jello to the sauce. Actually, I used a whole box and it works wonderfully. I've also used this recipe as a template for making a peach variety using red and yellow food coloring and peach jello. Absolutely wonderful!!! Everyone who has had some of either version loved it and wants more!!!! I'm going to try a tropical version next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
For some reason the filling is just not setting, it's still liquid. I would like to make this again, but I need to figure out how to make the filling set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Fantastic CRUST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
I am giving this a 5 star rating for it's crust !I used Strawberry pie 2 for the filling... Reminded me of Strawberry shortcake ! I will try this entire recipe soon ! GREAT with ice cream !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
My glaze never really thickened enough, and my pie ended up a little too soupy. I probably won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This was very good but pretty sweet. I think next time I will cut back a little on the sugar or add a Tbsp. of lemon juice, as a previous reviewer recommended. Also, it could use a little more crust. I will probably increase the ingredients by 50%. Also, it did not want to come out of the pan cleanly so the pieces were not very presentable. Next time, I will give my pan a quick shot of spray oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States