Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
The crust was exceptionally good; the consistency of it is more like a cookie dough, but don't worry, it turns out great when baked! For a holiday pie, try using green food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I got to say i really didnt care alot for this recipe all though my husband loved it... there was just something missing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I am cheating and just reviewing the crust. I made it to go with a coconut cream pie. It was great. A slight hint of powdered sugar. I suspect it would be even better with a fruit pie like this. I put it with a coconut cream pie with whipped topping, which was already really sweet and this made it even sweeter, almost too sweet. The only downside is the crust crumbled when I took it out of the pie plate. If you don't care about presentation and taste is everything, then you will LOVE this crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
5 stars for the crust! Simple and easy to make. 0 stars for the glaze - it's too think, syrupy, and sweet. I even used more strawberries than a quart. It really ruined the flavour of the strawberries. I will try again with a different fruit filling, like the Strawberry Pie II filling previously suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I divided this recipe in half and made 2 individual pies. They were very tasty. I little whipped cream or vanilla ice cream would have been a perfect pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Very good recipe...however, please be sure to spray your pie plate with nonstick spray to ease the pie out of the dish. Also, great is 1 cup heavy whipping cream beat together with 1/4 cup of sugar to add to this wonderful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Excellent pie. The crust is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This is an excellent pie! We picked up a good-sized basket of fresh stawberries from the farmer's market and were looking for some recipes to try. Glad we tried this one. Just a note - I had make up some extra glaze since I didn't have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Yummy! Loved the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is one of the BEST strawberry pies I've ever made. It's SO simple you can make the whole thing in under 20 minutes. My crust I baked for about 12-13 minutes, it never really went brown though but that was cooked well enough. A big tip for the glaze is make sure you mix the sugar and corn starch together FIRST, then add the water. The first time I made this I just threw it all in the sauce pan, but when the corn starch mixes with the water it doesn't always break down so there were a bunch of white chunks, mixing it first eliminated this completely. I also poured the glaze over the strawberries almost immediately after boiling for 5 minutes. When you let it cool it gets very thick and globby but when its boiling it pours very easily in between the berries and then hardens into a gel. I used a 10 inch pan but another thing I ended up doing was making almost another half batch of the glaze since I didn't find that the original amount was enough. Next time I make this I'm going to make individual pies because when you cut this is falls apart. Would be amazing to serve at a dinner and give everyone their own little pie. This is an amazing recipe, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States