Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
The crust was exceptionally good; the consistency of it is more like a cookie dough, but don't worry, it turns out great when baked! For a holiday pie, try using green food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHAIKIRA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I got to say i really didnt care alot for this recipe all though my husband loved it... there was just something missing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAIKIRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I am cheating and just reviewing the crust. I made it to go with a coconut cream pie. It was great. A slight hint of powdered sugar. I suspect it would be even better with a fruit pie like this. I put it with a coconut cream pie with whipped topping, which was already really sweet and this made it even sweeter, almost too sweet. The only downside is the crust crumbled when I took it out of the pie plate. If you don't care about presentation and taste is everything, then you will LOVE this crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
5 stars for the crust! Simple and easy to make. 0 stars for the glaze - it's too think, syrupy, and sweet. I even used more strawberries than a quart. It really ruined the flavour of the strawberries. I will try again with a different fruit filling, like the Strawberry Pie II filling previously suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I divided this recipe in half and made 2 individual pies. They were very tasty. I little whipped cream or vanilla ice cream would have been a perfect pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Very good recipe...however, please be sure to spray your pie plate with nonstick spray to ease the pie out of the dish. Also, great is 1 cup heavy whipping cream beat together with 1/4 cup of sugar to add to this wonderful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Excellent pie. The crust is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This is an excellent pie! We picked up a good-sized basket of fresh stawberries from the farmer's market and were looking for some recipes to try. Glad we tried this one. Just a note - I had make up some extra glaze since I didn't have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Yummy! Loved the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is one of the BEST strawberry pies I've ever made. It's SO simple you can make the whole thing in under 20 minutes. My crust I baked for about 12-13 minutes, it never really went brown though but that was cooked well enough. A big tip for the glaze is make sure you mix the sugar and corn starch together FIRST, then add the water. The first time I made this I just threw it all in the sauce pan, but when the corn starch mixes with the water it doesn't always break down so there were a bunch of white chunks, mixing it first eliminated this completely. I also poured the glaze over the strawberries almost immediately after boiling for 5 minutes. When you let it cool it gets very thick and globby but when its boiling it pours very easily in between the berries and then hardens into a gel. I used a 10 inch pan but another thing I ended up doing was making almost another half batch of the glaze since I didn't find that the original amount was enough. Next time I make this I'm going to make individual pies because when you cut this is falls apart. Would be amazing to serve at a dinner and give everyone their own little pie. This is an amazing recipe, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States