Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This pie was easy and very good. I already had a crust, so I did not use the crust on this recipe. The strawberry filling was very good as is. I would suggest to the people that thought it had no flavor to get home grown berries, not berries from a grocery store. The flavor of the berry is what makes the pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAIRE CALDERONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I really liked this but my family didn't care for it. plus it came out with too much gel so I only used about half of it for the pie. also definatly use the jello because without it it would have been flavorless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Southern Charm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This pie was really good. It did take longer for the crust to cook as others had said. The crust is the best part though! Really nice with the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this for my husband's birthday and he said it was "luscious." That's a high compliment coming from him. I used fresh strawberries and put 1/2 pkg. sugar-free strawberry jello in with the glaze mixture because I was out of red food coloring. The crust is fantastic. Goes really well with the strawberries. Topped with Cool Whip, this is a refreshing summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
wow this pie is good, the crust is great a new twist to strawberry pie.a new family favorite I do agee with previous postes that the sugar is a little much I will cut it back a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this recipe when strawberries were sadly out of season and I used frozen berries. The crust was very yummy and I think with fresh berries, this would be even better. I plan to make another attempt soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Sorry, but this turned out very runny! The crust tasted OK, but I agree with others that it was almost cookie-like. I followed the recipe exactly and even though it tasted fine, it looked horrible! I will probably not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Good recipe, great crust. This is my new favorite crust, but my oven took a bit longer to bake, like others said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I only used this recipe for the crust and it was delish. It did take quite a few more minutes to bake than the recipe said. The crust stayed intact when I served the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I'm sorry, but I just didn't like this. My husband (who is really easy to please) said it just tasted like strawberries with jell on top. I must have done something wrong since it's gotten such great reviews from others. I will not even bother to make this again though. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States