Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I have never given any recipe on here a rating this low. The crust did not stay together and you couldn't even really taste it. That is if you could get it out of the pan in one piece!I gave 2 stars because the pie looked wonderful. The strawberries were excellent, but nothing worth trying again. will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAREC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Hi! I have made this recipe now about 4 times. When I get in a hurry, I just use a graham cracker crust. My husband now asks me to make another one. It's the best! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
its really good. but i recomend going lite on the glaze it doesnt really have a taste. so more berries and less glaze. just use as a lite covering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYM1102
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Very Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Oh, my! This is a great Dish! I made it extra special by cutting fresh strawberries and tossing them in sone regular sugar! then placing them on the botton of the crust :) Yummy! Perfect Crust, (I am not a crust person) But this sugar cookie like crust is great. I added extra vanilla to it :) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Our favorite summer treat. The crust is like a sugar cookie. Best made and served on the same day. Don't cook the filling too long or it gels up into big goopy mess. Cooked correctly, you will get many requests for recipe at your next potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was the best pie ever! I used fresh strawberries and followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great! It was even better the next day as leftovers. Thanks for the recipe-- it is one of my favorites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I can only rate the crust, for taste I would rate it much higher, but it didn't bake well for me. I baked it for longer than written and sprayed my dish, poked holes, etc - and the sides slipped down, making it mostly slip to the bottom. Maybe cooking spray is not needed here, I will try the recipe again, since I love the taste & don't love traditional pie crust as much. I used the Strawberry Pie II recipe for the filling (which was great!) -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Wonderful! I did follow a bunch of other reviewers' suggestions and added lemon juice to the gel, turning the heat down as soon as it reaches a boil. I used freshly picked local strawberries. I will definitely be trying this with other seasonal fruit this summer (blueberries, peaches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Should the margarine be cold and cut in, or softened and mixed in completely? Who knows? It doesn't say to grease the pie pan, even though it's absolutely necessary. I greased mine per reviews and it still stuck to it completely in several spots. It is impossible to pull an intact "piece" of pie out of the pan using this crust. And, as most reviewers have mentioned, it bakes not in 8-10 minutes but takes nearly 20 minutes to lightly brown. Once you get the crust out of the pan in its little tiny crumbs and pieces, you realize this dessert is better served in a bowl rather than on a plate, as a kind of strawberry jell with shortbread crumbles mixed in. While tasty, the fact it can't be served in wedges makes it in no way a "pie." The strawberry-jell mixture is tasty and pretty much the same thing you'll find in any strawberry pie recipe, such as in my Betty Crocker cookbook. However, it's impossible to "pour" the cooled jell over the strawberries because it has...cooled, and thickened. Do what another reviewer said and mix the berries with the jell before putting into the crust. I had been hoping to find an easy, non-pastry crust for chilled pies for those times I don't want to go to the hassle of pastry. This is not the crust I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiny Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States